New Discovery: Systembolaget


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Östergötland County » Linköping
August 28th 2010
Published: August 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello all

I've been pretty quiet on here since I arrived because I've been getting settled and familiar with everything, plus I havent done any travelling or new sightseeing lately. Tonight I'm going out on the town with some friends for the first time since I've been here. I'm nervous but also excited to see what it will be like. At the moment it's rather cold and rainy so finding a going-out outfit to work with the weather will be interesting I'm sure.

I found the liquor store this week (called the Systembolaget) and decided to try some Swedish beer. I wasn't sure if I was a lager or an ale girl so I got one of each and a bottle of sparkling wine. I was bored last night so I cracked the beer and tried both (I'm an ale girl by the way) and now I have no beer to drink tonight! I'm sure the hangover from the sparkling wine will feel just wonderful. I meant to get up today to get more beer or something but they have this crazy rule about the Systembolaget being closed by 3pm on Saturdays. What is this madness??

Tomorrow I'm off to Gamla Linkoping which is old town. It is a town that looks like a Swedish town would have at the turn of the 19th century. There are swedish handicrafts (handmade lace, wooden carvings, chocolate etc) and old schools and stores and things. Hope my inevitable hangover won't stick around too long for that!

I did do something interesting since my last post- I took a campus tour. There are some interesting things about Linkoping that are much different from Canada.

-They have hardly any restaurants on campus. Instead, they have rooms full of microwaves and people bring food from home and warm it there.

-Also they have rooms for napping! If you're on campus and you have a bit of a gap and need some sleep, you can go have a powernap in one of these rooms. I like that!

-The student union type thing throws a party like once a month and it's enormous. Everyone wears overalls (but you only wear the top tied around your waist so they're really just pants) and they are colour-coordinated according to your program. Each event offers patches you can buy to decorate the overalls with and you are never never never allowed to wash your overalls! I really like the idea of never having to figure out what to wear or worry about getting dirty but those damn things are expensive so I have to admit I opted out.

Well I'm off to get ready for a night out. Cross your fingers it's a good night!!

-R

Advertisement



30th August 2010

night out and other things
Dear Swedish Berry Thanks for the update. I don't want you doing that dirty coverall thing! It is not good for a Canadian girl's image. The powernap room is odd, just odd, but the microwave room is not. I just think you shouldn't spend too much time there or you will start to glow or something like that. I'm glad that you like the beer. Try the cider! How was the wine and the night out? Hope the old city was fun. Can't wait to hear about it. Take care for now. Retired Aunt Swedish Berry P.S. the peach fest is over. It was good. Sorry you missed it!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb