Farewell Abisko, onwards to Malmo


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Norrbotten County
July 2nd 2010
Published: July 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Midnight SunMidnight SunMidnight Sun

This is as dark as it gets
Short one today.

Check-out is quite intensive here… they give you a list of thins you have to do in your room before you leave (cleaning-wise) otherwise you risk a $40 fine. Lovely.

I headed down towards the lake today - that was lovely. There’s a huge delta which is a bird sanctuary, so it’s off limits, but it was nice to look down into it. I found another reading perch near the river and spent a good hour up there.

I then headed further up the mountain into the bush… yeah, not as much of a fan. I don’t like the sounds of rustling in the bushes - they have lynx, bears and wolverines out here haha. Skills. I know they don’t come near people, but still, slightly paranoid haha.

Thankfully, the largest wild animal I saw was a chipmunk. And some huge bird. That I can deal with.

Back near the cabins there was a beautiful Samoyed - awww. I miss my Balou! And my Homer. Aw.

ANYWAY. I headed off to the recreation of a Sami Camp (Aboriginal people from Northern Scandinavia) which was pretty cool. I had to laugh when I
SamoyedSamoyedSamoyed

He looks so smug. Puff-ball.
got to their teepee though… it had a huge tarp on it from the company: “tentipi” … wow, how authentic!! Haha. Everything else was good though.

My train comes in a couple hours - I’m headed down to Malmo on the overnight train, via Stockholm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

That was my reading perchThat was my reading perch
That was my reading perch

Sitting on the rocks, overlooking the river, reading in the sunlight... what more could you ask for?
Recreation of a Sami CampRecreation of a Sami Camp
Recreation of a Sami Camp

Look at the amazing tee-pee!
A Goat HutA Goat Hut
A Goat Hut

Lucky goats.
This was on my bed post upon my arrivalThis was on my bed post upon my arrival
This was on my bed post upon my arrival

Beautiful. Haha.Please don't fart.


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb