A walk in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
November 6th 2005
Published: January 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mystic in MadridMystic in MadridMystic in Madrid

My ever faithful travel companion Mystic busily reads my Madrid travel guides.
Place: Madrid, Spain

Hemingway once described Spain as a masculine country. Its beauty is rugged and warm, enfolding you into its embrace, but only if you allow it. The brief time I spent in Madrid revealed a culture that is similar in values to my own. Somewhere a door unlocked and I let the culture run through me. Madrid essentially is an engaging, sexy city. Walking around on the first day, I found myself synchronizing to the pulse of the city, stepping out of Philadelphia time and into Madrid time.

As appealing as this trip sounded to me, I did not want to wander off to Spain alone. I managed to talk 3 friends into joining me in this adventure. The four of us; Max, Joe, Debbie and myself found ourselves planning a trip to into the unknown. The differences of travel styles between the guys and the girls was stark. The guys didn't care where they slept, as long as they had internet access. I can survive without the internet, but not without an in-room coffeemaker! Max brought along a briefcase filled with snacks - I found a great coffee house a block away from the hotel. Walking
Hold Still!!Hold Still!!Hold Still!!

The artist at work :) Max really captured a side of my personality with this impromtu picture.
for miles on foot around a city is the norm during my vacations -the guys preferred getting around Madrid on tour buses.

One day that typified our differences had Debbie and I strolling around the palace grounds and soaking in the art at the Reina Sofia, the guys spent that same day looking for an open laundromat. I did manage to convince the guys to check out the Prado, although I'm not sure they cared much for the place. I should feel lucky they did not try to convince me to visit their favorite laundromat!

Our opposing ideas of travel made this trip memorable. Everyone felt comfortable going their own way in order to explore the sights of Madrid that interested them. The hallmark of a good trip!





Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Palacio de Comunicaciones.Palacio de Comunicaciones.
Palacio de Comunicaciones.

The more I read about this building in my guide book, them more I regret not taking a closer look.
Could it be?Could it be?
Could it be?

Is that Elvis having a quick bite to eat before dissapearing into the night?
Retiro ParkRetiro Park
Retiro Park

Yes..that is a picture of a deciduous evergreen! I know..I was as surprised as you to discover these trees in Madrid!
ChurchChurch
Church

Is that Byzantine influence in the design of this church?
ArchitectureArchitecture
Architecture

An apartment building across from the royal palace.
Peek-a-BooPeek-a-Boo
Peek-a-Boo

I love the playfulness of this sculpture I discovered in Retiro Park.
Palacio de CristalPalacio de Cristal
Palacio de Cristal

There was some funky art display inside this palace. "F*** Mr. Bear" was one of the more popular exhibits.
Tango Anyone?Tango Anyone?
Tango Anyone?

I could get lost in this dance.
Mystery BuildingMystery Building
Mystery Building

Speaking of architecture....WOW!! This building is located near Plaza Espana, and I'm not sure of it's use.
The PalaceThe Palace
The Palace

Impressive architecture and gardens. Too bad I've yet to step foot in the palace.
Parade Time!!Parade Time!!
Parade Time!!

Took a picture of this sign so I could translate it later..
Plaza EspanaPlaza Espana
Plaza Espana

Just quickly walked around this fountain and snapped this picture.
What's the name of this Hotel??What's the name of this Hotel??
What's the name of this Hotel??

Not too shabby of a picture.
Parade to the PalaceParade to the Palace
Parade to the Palace

Parade particpants
Arch of SomethingArch of Something
Arch of Something

I like the illuminations on the Archway. This Arch is near the entrance to Retiro Park.
Food BreakFood Break
Food Break

Nothing like an Irish bar in the middle of Madrid.
Joe & SandraJoe & Sandra
Joe & Sandra

Joe sitting...
Tapas and FriendsTapas and Friends
Tapas and Friends

Last night in Madrid
Tapas and FriendsTapas and Friends
Tapas and Friends

Max and Olga


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb