I pulled up in my 64' Impala...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
September 23rd 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As many of you may or may not be aware, I am something of a homey gee. When I am not chilling with my peeps on various stoops in various countries, I can be found wandering the streets aimlessly, cassette boom box on shoulder, blasting the likes of Jazzy Jeff and the occasional track from Kool Herc and the Hercoids. Growing up on the mean streets of Regina taught me the importance of vandalism and grafitti, and though not much of an artist my self, I became a local afficionado of Saskatchewan's up and coming grafitti scene. From the aerosal cans of K-Pas, T-bone, and UK came inspired tag's belonging to the 'quantity over quality' school of street art. I was a convert, and remember being immensely impressed by the notion that these people were capable of reproducing their tags en mass. When I moved to Valencia, I became exposed to a world beyond the shabbily written queen city tags. Valencia has some of the best graffiti I've seen. And though the spanish don't seem to be big fans of my shoulder casette boom box, the richness of the street art culture can not be denied. I decided it important to
one the strange creaturesone the strange creaturesone the strange creatures

who occupy space on random valencian streets
expose you to a small sample of some of the fine work being produced in this town. Dennie and I spent a lazy afternoon searching the streets for cool grafitti. Heres a Sample,
Peace Out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Down on the cornerDown on the corner
Down on the corner

the corner of my block looks like this
strange drug inducedstrange drug induced
strange drug induced

dream grafitti


10th October 2007

Very cool! I did the same thing in Venice!! GTS!
12th October 2007

Word up, hommies.
Together Special K and the Double D, Cheezier than the Mac in the KD. Checking the tags on the streets of Spain, Wish I was there instead of covered in rain. But I'll keep kickin it old school. Miss ya in Regina like chump fools. Proper. Dj Nala. Peace out.
20th October 2007

more grafiti
There is one wall I really like at the begining of calle Cádiz (or was it Sueca) very close to Gran Via.
21st October 2007

nice collection! I should do something of the same...
28th December 2007

deadly! I didn't find much in Vancouver when I was there in November, but I think I needed to walk down more back alleys.... or ask the kids at Emily Carr where I should go. I wanted to, but I chickened out.
4th January 2008

I like the norval morrisseau one.

Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 22; qc: 81; dbt: 0.196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb