Alicante


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
October 5th 2011
Published: December 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I quite enjoyed the long train journey from Barcelona even though I was battling with my Ipod earphones the whole time as one decided to break and the other was on its last legs. Some rather nice scenery. It was nice and easy finding my hostel. It was a proper hostel - cheap, ultra laid back and really friendly. I only had one thing on my mind after check-in - food. I went to find the place the hostel manager recommended to me which had sandwiches and beer for a euro each on La Rambla. There I ordered a gourmet beef and something sandwich, a cone of chips and a beer. To my amusement the cone of chips was actually a cone of crisps (chips to Americans and Aussies). I was expecting a cone of chips (fries to Americans and Aussies)! I then had a quick walk to the beach before heading back to the hostel to chill for the evening.

The following day I wanted to go and check out the Costa Blanca which was a metro ride away. It was 2 euros 80 very well spent I was shocked at how nice this beach was! Was not expecting much at all cuz come on - this is Europe! I thought the beach in Alicante was nice but this was glorious - huge, fairly quiet, clean sand etc. Perfect. Needless to say I spent the day lying on the beach sipping water listening to the waves and topping up my tan. Glorious. Just what I needed after a busy few weeks of being on the move non stop!

Nice and bronzed I headed back to the hostel and then went for a very Spanish KFC before hiking up to the hilltop castle of Santa Barbara. The hike was absolutely knackering as the path up to the castle is so steep. The blood was well and truly pumping round my body as I reached the top. Alicante isn't quite as stunning as Barcelona or Paris but watching the sunset from the top of this castle was still pretty spectacular.

As it was my last night travelling, I joined the hostels' bar crawl and got well and truly hammered. I was to regret that in the morning as thought I was dying - not the best feeling when travelling home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Wierd bridgeWierd bridge
Wierd bridge

looks like a water slide


Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb