Memory is my enemy


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Pamplona
September 16th 2013
Published: September 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So three days of walking with Kelly and Maia: what have we learnt? Well, if I was being trite (and let's face it, that's highly probable), then I'd say that Kelly really doesn't like the hilly stuff, Maia is mostly fantastic (when she's good, she's very good...) and we are all a bit worn.

But mostly what I've found out is that you can't trust your memory. Or rather there is a big difference between your experience of something and your later memory of it. Experience is a kind of continuum whereas you memory is a series of snapshots that you can't quite link properly into a whole. Kel and Maia have a running joke about how many hills I've either forgotten about or understated the length and/or height of. In my memory, the two slightly flat stretches on the first day constituted the ENTIRE 17 kilometers after Orisson (they don't). In my memory the second day is almost uniformly and in places precipitously downhill (it isn't). And in my memory, there is nowhere to eat on the third day until you reach the outskirts of Pamplona (and again I'm so wrong).

I have no credibility...

I kinda like it...

Advertisement



16th September 2013

Forgive yourself early my friend. If women didn\'t forget the hardship of childbearing,...there would be NO second or subsequent children. Memory favors the optimistic and idealistic sides of human beings and that is generally a great thing! Journey on my friend and savor it!
17th September 2013

Memories..., memories
So often in the corners of our mind From the picture of Kelly and Maia, I remember that ski poles always came with skis Love the blog, love what your doing and reading about it, to liven up our days here Paul

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb