Galicia - Celtic Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia
June 29th 2008
Published: July 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here are photos from the last couple of weeks on the "Camino"... I´m in the providence of Galicia. It was originally settled by Celtics, and still maintains its Celtic culture. Because it´s located between the mountains and the Atlantic Ocean, it gets much more rain than Southern Spain. Oftentimes, it´s misty and rainy. As I get closer to Santiago, the scenery is getting more lush and green... I´ve been walking with a few people from Ireland who say it reminds them very much of their homeland.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Thatch-roofed house in the village of O´CebreiroThatch-roofed house in the village of O´Cebreiro
Thatch-roofed house in the village of O´Cebreiro

As I walked into this village, I could hear celtic music playing inside the shops and restaurants.
Laundry lineLaundry line
Laundry line

It´s amazing that the laundry actually dries in this place.
Cow in the roadCow in the road
Cow in the road

A common site in Galicia
Inside a rustic albergueInside a rustic albergue
Inside a rustic albergue

This cozy albergue was hosted by Americans from Austin, Texas. It was one of my favorites, of course!
Yellow arrow of scallop shellsYellow arrow of scallop shells
Yellow arrow of scallop shells

The scallop shell is the symbol of the Camino de Santiago.


7th July 2008

Inspiration
Laura, You have totally inspired me to follow in your footsteps. I look forward to hearing more about this trek. It seems so perfect! To be able to stay at hostels and trek thru villages.. I am ready! Thanks for the updates Sandy
7th July 2008

Great pictures!
It's so dry in Sun Valley right now, that just the concept of mist or rain seems hard to grasp. Sounds like you've seen a lot of it though!
8th July 2008

What a beautiful country
From your pictures, it is like stepping back in time. What a beautiful place. I am so enjoying your journey. You look happy and also committed. It appears that you have met some kindred spirits. Thank you again for taking us along with you. Ruthanne
9th July 2008

Congratulations!
Hi, Laura. I know you arrived in Santiago last 5th. You had had out to walk along the Camino de Santiago, and you had done it! I was sure in Valdelavilla (when you told me your plan) that you can get in Santiago de Compostela after 800 kms walking along, and now, I supose you are the most happy woman in the world!. That is said by an Spanish who live 80 kms. from the shortest point in the Camino, and never had been walking along it. Well done!! Congratulations!!
12th July 2008

Wow!
Laura, what an incredible journey! I have really enjoyed following your trip on this travelblog. Amazing!!!! Take care... Janet
15th July 2008

Thank You
Laura, seeing your blog made me smile with thoughts of my own camino experience last year. I was tickled when I saw so many familiar sites. I winced when I saw the pictures of your blister. It takes a lot of courage and perseverance to keep walking day after day with one of those! I hope you recover from your camino experience well - it took me some time before I could get over the blues of missing the camino experience. I also found it difficult to explain fully to friends and family just how deep the camino experience goes. Don't feel bad if you are short of words to explain it all. If you're curious about my experience both during and after, you can go to http://www.musingsonthecamino.com. Buen Camino!
15th July 2008

Your Pictures are just great!
HI Laura, You may remember meeting my friend, Cecily and I on the camino--- we were the 2 Irish girls(?) who sang an Irish Blessing for you and made Andrew(another Irish pilgrim,) sad. WEll done on finishing the camino. I loved your pictures--- they brought alll the memories alive. Not back home yet-- spending a little time in the sun in the Canaries. Eileen
21st February 2011

Celtic La Guardia, Galicia, Spain
I enjoyed the article. I would like to see maps and more history of La Guardia. town where I was born. Thanks

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb