Santiago, last time in town


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
October 16th 2010
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We had decided to catch the early bus to Santiago to ensure that Mirkosch could do the things he needed to before he left for home. It was a good decision, even though it meant quite an early start. We had to be on the bus for 6.45am. All good though, half slept all the way, and the trip ended up only being about two hours max.

We had already booked the albergue, the same one I had stayed at before, so we walked there and checked in. We had breakfast there and then went off to do our respective things. i had to buy a charger for my phone and then ended up at Zara, shopping. I was sick of wearing the same old clothes for over a month and so decided to buy an outfit for the last week of my trip. And, of course, I love Zara, so any excuse. The only challenge was buying something that would work with my walking boots, as I couldn't see any point in buying new shoes. I did well in the end, after trying on half the shop, and was very happy with my purchases.

I went back to the albergue and showered and then went back to Zara to get a belt for the jeans I had bought. On the way I banged into Jackie, what a lovely surprise. She was looking for the spot to catch the airport bus, so I went with her. Luckily it was easy to find and near to the albergue, very handy. I went to Zara and got my belt and she headed off, we decided to meet later for a walk.

I had a walk round the park with Jackie, then me and Mirkosch had a bit of a wander around town. I picked up a pressie for mum. Then we went to a lovely Italian place for dinner. It was a menu of the day, and cheap, but we had amazing service and it was a very nice, small restaurant. It felt very special.

That night in the albergue was a bit crazy. So noisy for an albergue, one of the girls decided she was too scared to sleep on the top bunk so moved her mattress to the floor, and then a symphony of snorers. Ah well, last night in shared accomodation, joy!

Saturday

Had breakfast at the albergue and then did some internet stuff. Then I headed out to wander round a bit. I was thinking about going to the cathedral again, but it was already madly busy. Then Jackie text me and we met at her hotel. She was keen to find the food market that she had found another day, so we went searching. Luckily we found it. It was great!!! So interesting and vibrant. Then we went the second hand market by the post office and then went back to near the market for lunch. It was a very cool local joint. We got food with our drinks order. We kind of guessed our food order, but that worked out perfectly, what we got was delicious!

We did a bit more wandering around, went to Zara to do some more shopping, to Jackie's hotel for a little nap, then went for a lovely walk in the park. Around 6pm I got my gear from my albergue and caught the bus to the airport. Only a half hour trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb