4th-6th October


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
October 6th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Monday 4th October

Left with detreich this morning. It was raining, but not too horrible. We stopped and had breakfast. While we were eating we saw the weather forecast - it looked like we were in for gale force winds - oh I hope not!!

Anyway, kicked off in the dark. But it got light pretty quickly. Wet most of the way, but the winds didn't kick in. It was a lovely walk - really beautiful countryside. A little bit of an adventure today, as quite a few really big trees had blown over in the winds the night before. And some of them were totally blocking the path. So there were a few detours and a bit of climbing over fences.

I walked a bit faster than detreich, so left him quite quickly. A little different today - alot more people. Alot of people just do the last 100kms, so those people started in sarria. Not so nice all of a sudden. They way has started to feel s little touristy.

I was going to walk to Gonzar today but I banged into jackie and we started chatting so I stopped in Portomarin. A really pretty town with a nice vibe.

We had heaps of time, so we had lunch, did errands, showered and then just cruised around town and hung in the sun. I had dinner with Johan at a really cute place overlooking the river. He is such great company and we had a very insightful conversation. He gave me some very good pieces of advice.

Tuesday 5th October

Headed out early again. It was very dark. I started with Jackie, but once again was walking a little faster and was keen to walk by myself. So it wasn't long before I was on my own. The new people on the way are very loud, so I had plenty of inspiration to get ahead of them.

Once again a very nice walk. Plenty if ups and downs, but I was feeling great today. Probably because I'd only walked about 20kms the day before. Anyway was on fire and got through z fair amount of distance really quickly.

I banged into connie around San xulian, we stopped and had lunch and then headed into melide - around 40kms all up. We stayed in hotel in melide. It was nice to finally have a room to myself and it was still pretty cheap. Armando was also staying there and he said that the albergue had been full, so we made the best choice to stay at the hotel.

Wednesday 6th october

Made it to pedrouza today. Another nice walk. Met a very nice Spanish guy toward the end of my walk. He invited me to stay at his nieces place in Santiago but I decided I needed to stay on my own in Santiago so I could see everyone.

Great albergue. Quite new and comfortable.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb