Day 27 + 28: Final days in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
July 25th 2012
Published: July 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Literally nothing to say about yesterday.

We slept in – we decided to have a pajama day... aaaaand that’s about it.

Em napped a lot of the day, and I took the time to start planning my trip to Nashville. (Yes, one final trip to end the gap year!)

Today, we actually got dressed!

First we went to the Bullfighting Museum (which is in the bullfighting arena). The arena’s a lot smaller than I would have thought (22,000 people apparently) and the museum was definitely smaller than I thought lol. But it was free!

The museum can pretty much be summed up by the fact we saw a lot of paintings/busts of guys that are now dead, and taxidermied bull heads. How lovely. I don’t know, it’s not something I can get interested in... I think it’s such a horrible thing to watch, but at the same time I guess I can appreciate if it’s part of a culture. I don’t know, I’m just not a fan.

From there we went to the Prado Museum... which is apparently Madrid’s Louvre. Anyone that knows me and Em know we’re not big on the art museums/gallery... ahem, but we went ahead anyway because it’s free and it’s a must-see.

Em ended up staying for half of it before going to read in Retiro park again – I somehow managed to trek my way through the entire museum. It does have beautiful art... I just... I don’t know, you can only see so many paintings of Jesus before they all look the same.

(Sidenote: creepy ass Jesus baby paintings are going to give me nightmares. They looked nothing like Jesus. What is happening?!)

(Second sidenote: this is a really depressing entry haha, it sounds like I hate everything. I don't! I just, yeah... haha.)

Anyway, that was our museum day. We also finished packing since tomorrow we get to sit on a bus from 9am-5pm. Party!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb