my study abroad adventure begins...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 30th 2007
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After what seemed like 6 days, we finally got to Madrid. Sicne I was so tired from coaching soccer camp, I was able to sleep most of the flight which I think helped with my jet lag a tiny bit. We walked around Madrid for probably 4 hours. I was exhausted. It helped meget a feel for the city though. Pretty, but not as pretty as some of the places I saw in Italy. A lot of the buildings downtown have graffiti on them--kind of interesting. We really didn't get a chance to see too much because our teacher was hardcore power walking, but did run into a GIANT gay pride parade--which was fun/funny. hah Everyone doing the program seems very nice. I love both of my roommates so far.
We went to 2 bars and a discoteca last night...easily one of the best nights of my life. Wasy more guys than girls, and Soanish men love Americans, especially blondes. Muchos hombres tried to kiss me and many touched my hair. wtf I get a kick out of the kissing on both cheeks--no shaking ahnds! I teach a few high fives/hand shakes though. The drinks ehre are SO good and cheap! I don't know what they call it, but they mix red wine and coke and surprisingly it's deliscious. I'll have to remember that at home. I feel pretty safe here most of the time, although the guys at the bar could be very aggressive. Lindsay and I felt like movie stars. Everyone wanted to talk to us. Hah! All that talking really helped me Spanish though. Best part of the night...we left the club at 6:30 AM and it wasn't even last call---if there is one. Went to sleep at 7:30 after witnessing a man riding his moutain bike completely naked thorugh the city. Yes. Crazy night. More adventures to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb