From Malaga to Melilla


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Ceuta & Melilla » Melilla
March 9th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I took the boat over from Malaga to Melilla, one of the two Spanish enclaves that remain in Morocco.
Boat was big empty and had a bar. I slept all the way to the other side, only to be woken by a custom officer to kick me off. Hassle free arrival and checked in in one of the hotels.

Melilla is a kind of a strange place as it has all very rich Spanish people living there, who still adore Franco and a large number of poor Moroccons. The place defenitely has a Spanish atmosphere, tapas bars, wines, the language end feels very colonial, with it's big fort looming over th coast.

Anyway stayed only one night, although it was nearly the end of my trip.... As I reached for my toothbrush from the shower on the sink, I had to look for some sort of support, which I found on the towel holder. Unfortenately the thingy was made of plastic and broke of the wall and I have never fallen so hard on the side of a bath tub!! If I had only be 20 years older, it would have costed me my hip. So most of the day I walked through Melilla, like an old man. Nice start!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb