Barcelona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 8th 2010
Published: September 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I've been really lazy about updating, so I'm trying to make up for lost time.
I arrived in spain on the 29th of August, and because Pamplona doesn't have its own international airport, I flew instead to Barcelona and decided to spend a few days there exploring the city. Barcelona is an incredible place, and it is absolutely beautiful. I didn't spend nearly as much time there as I could have, but I saw most of the highlights of the city, and could afford to relax a little.
My first day in Barcelona I walked through the old part of town, which is composed of narrow winding streets and tiny shops catering to any tourist need. The city is extremely international, and most people initially spoke to me in English, but after three weeks in Germany, I was happy to hear any language I actually understood. Anyways, I basically lost myself in the old town section of Barcelona for a few hours, walking around and making a fool of myself taking pictures of every other building. I saw old churches, one of which was the church where the first six 'indians' from the Americas were baptized. I saw ancient Roman walls and ruins in a museum who's main focus was 'el muerte' or death. It was strange to see so many skeletons, but interesting nonetheless.
I also paid a visit to Antoni Guadi's La Sagrada Familia, probably the most famous building in Barcelona. It was the most impressive building I've ever seen. I understand why its taking them so long to finish it. I didn't go inside, but the outside nearly scared me with its sheer size. I was also a big fan of the fancy shops around it. Not that I bought anything, but I've just learned to appreciate free air conditioning 😊
I also walked along Las Rambas, famous for some reason, but basically a long road with street performers. The highlights of Las Ramblas were definitely the giant H&M store, and La Boqueria, a big open air food market with fresh everything and delicious pastries. Las Ramblas end at 'Mirador Colon' a huge statue of Columbus looking out into the sea. Walking along the harbor of the Mediterranean was a great experience, especially since it was accompanied by an icy granizada, which is basically a tart slushy with lime.
My final day in Barcelona was spent climbing Montjuic,
Mirador ColonMirador ColonMirador Colon

The statue of columbus. Its huge
an old castle thats now a museum of Catlan art. I spend nearly two hours roaming the halls of the giant museum and saw arabic work from the year 500, Romanesque frescos, all the way up to Picasso and Dalí. The museum is impressive, and there's definitely a reason the ticket is valid for 2 days. I doubt I saw more than 2/3 of the collection, but I was exhausted. All in all, Barcelona was a fantastic experience and I cannot wait to go back, maybe spend some time on the beach or take a day trip to Salvador Dalí's Museum.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Me and the SeaMe and the Sea
Me and the Sea

And Granizada too!
Sagrada FamiliaSagrada Familia
Sagrada Familia

Gaudi's Masterpiece
MontjuicMontjuic
Montjuic

Tons of stairs, but there are actually hidden escalators outside!
Almost 900 Year Old FrescoAlmost 900 Year Old Fresco
Almost 900 Year Old Fresco

Today was actually my first day of 'Arte Español' and we were shown a picture of this exact same fresco! Apparently its very very important... Although I don't remember what it's called since the whole museum was in Catlan


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb