Back in Barcelona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 23rd 2010
Published: June 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Our day and a half in Andorra, where all we did was basically relax, was rather uneventful. I closed out my bank account, we visited my school where the English department had a little goodbye thing for me, and we of course visited some of the "sights". Wednesday afternoon it was already time for part 3 of our trip, Barcelona.

Coming back to the city for the umpteenth time and still feeling excited made me realize how much I've come to love Barcelona over this past year. When studying abroad in Spain I somehow never managed to reach the eastern part of the country - moron! Barcelona, and other cities I have yet to see like Sitges and Tarragona will definitely form part of my next trip to Spain.

We got into the city around 6:15 and headed to the hotel without issue. I had stayed at our hotel once before in February - it's right in the Ciutat Vella just off of Las Ramblas - couldn't ask for a better location in the center of all the action. Once settled in it was time to show Lou the ropes....

Walking down Las Ramblas we stopped at the big market, La Boquería, to of course stare at meat, fish, and other delicious things. Though I've been here like 6 times now I don't think I'll ever get tired of snapping photos of fish heads, pig heads, you name it.

Eventually we hit the Columbus Monument at the ocean's edge, and it occurred to me that since we were just off the port we should try to grab food at La Xampanyeria. With its 85 cent glasses of bubbly and 2€ delicious sandwiches you really can't go wrong, despite having to legitimately fight to order and feeling like you're trapped in a sardine can. That night for whatever reason it wasn't overly packed and we ordered right away! 8 glasses of cava and 3 sandwiches later, for only 13€ split, we were ready to roll. Well, first we needed a monster beer at a fun outdoor bar around the corner...

That night, Wednesday the 23rd, was the eve of the Feast of Sant Joan's, officially the beginning of summer and a huge all-night party all around Spain and many places in Europe. Along the beach and elsewhere people were shooting off fireworks, lighting bonfires, and celebrating. We joined in on the fun and spent a few hours along the beach in La Barceloneta area before heading toward where we thought a number of clubs were around 2 maybe. Hah. Mega-fail. We ended up wasting money on two cabs and were basically too drunk or braindead to find anywhere to go dancing. We would revisit the area the next evening and really just not understand how we missed seeing any of these places.

Oh well...there would be more fun to be had!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



27th June 2010

Love the hedgehog cakes! See if you can find out where I can get a mold.
28th June 2010

I have so enjoyed your blogs! Great photo of you and Lou!

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 113; dbt: 0.1459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb