Its Carnival!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
February 20th 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

BARCELONA Day 32



Today I took my time a little more. I headed for the beach to relax. As I neared the beach I heard a lot of music. Since the previous times on my travels that I heard music it worked out really well to follow it I decided to do the same thing. It just so happened that the weekend I was there coincided with carnival! So the music I heard was the bands getting ready to begin the parade. There were some seriously crazy costumes both in the parade and on the street. In Spain, since they don’t have Halloween the carnival is the time that children get to dress up in costume. So there were some batman, cowboy, and princesses running around the streets.

There parade was really fun to see with some great music but it seemed really small compared to the carnival at caribbana that I am used to seeing. The first floats were these cute elderly ladies and gentlemen. I am definitely glad that I followed the music again.

After the parade I finally made it to the beach to relax. I got a few hours in before it started to rain so I went back to the hostel to wait out the rain until I had to make my way to my night train to Geneva.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



27th February 2010

This day that you had just makes me smile. I just don't know why..

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb