Inspiring Day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 16th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Walk to the StationWalk to the StationWalk to the Station

My morning walk to the Station.
Today I got up and spent a couple of hours getting ready for my 1st proper day out! I decided I needed to do a big food shop so I was done for a couple of days. Urania told me there was a LIDL nearby so I went there and bout so much food my arms were going to collapse from the weight! So eventually I stood on a street corner looking pretty and caught a cab home in which the bloody cab driver couldn't (or probably didn't want to - he might have been Catalan) understand my directions which Urania later told me were perfectly clear! Anyhows I unpacked my shopoing and felt really nervous going out again. I spoke to Urania and she told me where a couple of place were like the Gym and told me it was safe outside and I wasn't gonna get murdered! lol

I called my friend Ramon and went to see him, he lives right in the centre at Placa Universidat, where the borders of the areas Eixample Esquerra & Eixample Dreta meet. It was really good to see him again and we chatted and chilled for a bit then went to
Cap de Barcelona SculptureCap de Barcelona SculptureCap de Barcelona Sculpture

Ramon told me this sculpture is by an American pop artist called Roy Lichtenstein meant to be a womans face.
enquire about getting a SIM card so I could have a Spanish mobile. We went to an 'El Paki' mobile shop and got myself a number.

He took me to where the Spanish school I wanted to enrol with was but unfotunately it was closed when we got there at 2030 (apparently early for here!) We then went to meet Ramon's friend in Barceloneta (The beach area) and then decided to walk all the way back to Ramon's for some food. On the way we passed Las Ramblas (The main tourist street) and he told me about an area called Raval. This is meant to be their version of Soho, slightly gritty and on the edge but with a real alternative and upcoming vibe with it. There is alot of immigrant communities here as well as being quite trendy and up and coming area. They have their own Rambla del Raval and it is largely void of tourists instead being a hang out for Barcelonians.

We found a 'Speak Easy' and chilled there for a few hours having a deep discussion and there I experienced something so amazing and eye opening it really affected me spiritually...

Around
Waiting to suck...something?Waiting to suck...something?Waiting to suck...something?

This figure is on the guard houses outside what I think is some kind of base for the Catalan Guard. You can always see HOT sexy guards standing outside during the day doing their duty! Unfortunately I came too late so had to do with 'Mr waiting to give a BJ' instead lol
0130 the place closed so we made our way to Ramon's but passing the Metropolitan Museum of Barcelona on the way where there was a real buzz and Spanish people were sitting, chatting and getting merry. Finally got to Ramon's, met his sleazy landlord (lol), ate then caught the 1st tube home at 0500 and slept like a baby.

I had one of the most amazing nights of my life and I had a lot to think about and to potentially act upon if I chose...




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Las RamblasLas Ramblas
Las Ramblas

The beginning of the tourist (trap) street lol Watch yourself and your belongings carefully here!
Early Art Deco Restaurant (Ceiling)Early Art Deco Restaurant (Ceiling)
Early Art Deco Restaurant (Ceiling)

Ramon pointed out this fantastic looking restaurant was very early Art Deco. Food was priced in the medium range.
Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)
Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)

There was a big square (Placa de Angels) and loads of people just chatting and having a nice evening. Unfortunately the picture didn\'t come out so good..I will have to visit again!
Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)
Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)

The other end of it..there was someone actually sitting in the black sculpture reading a book but I took too long to set my camera up and they walked off! Damn!
Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)
Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA)

This is another building which is part of it on the other side of the square and they connect underground.
Avinguda Gaudi (Empty)Avinguda Gaudi (Empty)
Avinguda Gaudi (Empty)

Totally empty at 0530, during the day these streets are bustling..shame there was a wobble :o(


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb