July 4th: Week 5


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » La Rambla
July 4th 2011
Published: July 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Testing the Wine 30 secs
July 4th- Week 5
Today is the Fourth of July. Too bad they don’t celebrate in Rome. The students all got together and cooked burgers and drank beer. It was a good little celebration. We couldn’t celebrate too hard because we had a big accounting exam the next day.

July 5th- Today we didn’t have a good Accounting class. A lot of the students didn’t finish the HW assignment because we were study for the exam. We had to cut class short because we were not prepared. The day turned around because we visited a vineyard called ViniPallaVicini. The site was beautiful. It’s crazy how long it takes to make wine, 8years! The site was hundreds of years old. At the end they left us with 15 bottles to finish with the group. Needless to say the bottles were gone by the time we left and the bus ride was much louder than when we started.

July 6th- We had our last IBM visit today. We got a lot of work accomplished and said good bye to Peter who had been so helpful the fast four weeks. We got pictures inside the facility. We will still be communicating with Peter through Skype in China.

July 7th- Today was our last day of classes. It is so bitter sweet. I feel like I have so much left to experience in Rome. Then I look back on my pictures and understand I have done enough. I am really looking forward to bring Brian back and showing him all the wonderful sites. In Accounting in the morning we had another quiz. This one went much better than the first one. We also looked over our ridiculous large annual report assignment and got a good idea of IBMs financials. He handed us our case study that is worth 70% of our grade. We had our last dinner and drinks in Rome and pack our bags for China.

July 8th- Today we had to wake up at 5:30am to head to the airport. Several of the students just stayed up all night. I luckily got 1ish hours of sleep. It was sad leaving our keys in our apt in Rome and leaving such a fun city. I was sad until I think, “I’m going to Shanghai!” It was a long day. Our first flight left at 8am and was two hours. Our next flight was 10hours to China. My first flight I was stuck between two punks that kept trying to wake me up. I haven’t had much luck flying; I always sit next to creeps. The second flight was 10 hours. I sat next to a British Engineer that does work in China. We had a wonderful conversation, until my TV broke and I had to move seats. I watch three movies on the way to China, Chronicles of Narnia; I am number four and Rango. I also started my book Hunger Games.






Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb