final month in spain ... :(


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
August 3rd 2011
Published: August 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

It’s the end of our volleyball trainings so we had a big dinner or a pic a pica (finger food) in the hall in Sant Llorens was so nice to spend the night with the team, I will definitely miss them all! After there was a volley party outside and our friend was djing, the music was so good but we as per usual were the only ones dancing ☺ But as the night continued everyone was dancing and we had such a good time- so many people- more than I thought were here.

We decided to go to Sitges ( a beach side town with a really good nightlife) for Saturday night but when we arrived we found out that there was a gay parade on that night. Now I thought I was pretty open minded but to be honest it completely blew me away haha. I think we were the only 3 girls there- but we felt incredibly safe haha ☺ but the guys were insane so many in costumes and just the general behavior – I don’t think I will ever be visiting a gay club. I don’t know what else to say….

My kids were away this week so I had 4 days to do whatever which was a very welcome break. Because now its school holidays I am with them everyday until 7pm haha and as much as I love being with them, sometimes you just need a break . Monday morning two friends from school facebooked me saying they were on contiki and were in Barcelona for a day and night. So I raced in and met them, so crazy for my life now and my life in new Zealand to mix but was awesome. They didn’t want to do any touristy things- I was happy with this… and so we went shopping! I know it was definitely my last shopping trip because I spent so much money and I am not going to have room in my backpack or maybe I will have room but I don’t think I will be able to lift it! I think the trick is once its on- leave it on! Haha we had an awesome time shopping and then they invited me out with them for the night, a night where I can understand the conversation and people can talk to me properly? YES OF COURSE
It was so crazy how easy it was to get on with everybody and I noticed a huge difference in my personality. Most of them were gap tutors in England and 80% were kiwis. Had awesome night but one of the guys was too drunk to get in and my train wasn’t until 6 so we headed back to their campsite and I disappeared early morning before the tour guides could see me ☺

I received a couch surfing request from a girl from Germany new to Barcelona and wanted to hang out so met up with her for a day at the beach – was really nice and so easy to get along with. So funny how here it’s normal to meet up with someone you don’t know and so now I find it really easy to interact with strangers. She lives in same town as michelle- who I am going to stay with in Germany so we will hopefully meet again.

This weekend kate and I finally headed to tibidabo and the magic fountains.. two things we have been saying we were going to do every weekend and never got around to it.
First we set out to tibidabo another mountain in Barcelona that has a beautiful view over the city and also an antique theme park- gorgeous to look at but don’t think I would trust the rides. We took an old tram up and then a funicular to the top both were so old and antique with so much character. I think that’s what I loved most about this was that there were hardly any tourists and it seemed like a genuine attraction unlike say las rambas or port vell. We wandered around eating chocolate croissants mmmm and enjoying the view. Then headed the fountains to make sure we got good spots. The setting for the fountains is amazing its right in front of the castell of montjuic and they have lights coming up from the back so the castell stands out in the distance, also huge fountains line the streets and as the clock strikes 9 30 these begin and form a aisle for the people to head to the fountains. There were so many people there all lined up the stairs, I think you could come and see it 10 times and It would be different depending where you sit. We lined the stairs and the music started and we were blown away. The show uses music /lights and amazing effects with the fountains to create an amazing show.. its too hard to describe but I have lots of videos! Definitely a must see- best thing I have seen in Barcelona. The atmosphere was amazing as well hundreds of people out in the night watching the show. I really love Barcelona at nighttime theres just such a great energy- probably the same will all cities… Bring on wellington.

We had our last au pair dinner ☹ we are all heading our separate ways this month. Going to be so hard to say goodbye. We went to the restaurant in our town and had paella, fideau and patatas bravas of course! It was so nice to be out with them .We had such a good time chatting and then we headed to the bar to hang out with our other friends. But there was an outside movie so we watched the end of yogi bear and then went back to the bar ☺ haha yes still a child at heart! Marissa and I headed to a nightclub 20 minutes away while the other 2 stayed at the bar. We had to stop at a police car and they came up to us and asked the driver had he been drinking, he said no I haven’t drunken anything and the drivers waved him passed! (don’t worry mum he hadn’t been drinking)
I couldn’t believe it – no wonder why they are so bad with drinking and driving in spain the police are so relaxed about everything from speeding/drinking driving to the Africans selling their things in the streets. We had such a good time it was all Spanish people/music and there was about 15 of us so really good night. We danced until we couldn’t anymore and got home at 7am. Im getting used to these big nights- next years going to be a change when the clubs close at 3.

Sat we headed into Barcelona to get a cartoonisation of all us au pairs on las rambas- just one of those things you have to do- plus a lot more fun than a photo. It turned out so funny- really gross of all of us- of course mine is the worst hehe but it is definitely getting framed!!! We then headed to watch the fountains again cause we loved them so much then started looking for some dinner. It was 11pm and we hadn’t eaten yet- late even for the Spanish but luckily we headed back to where Marissa has an apartment and we found an awesome tapas restaurant and it was delicious! We headed back to her apartment- which is amazing! It used to be a factory and at the moment they are cleaning and there is no kitchen/bedrooms/ its just a huge studio but I can tell it is going to be amazing- it does also help that she is an artist and so are her flatmates.




We finally did Nurias piñata we made for her birthday two weeks ago today, and was so much fun with all the family. We then decided me and the kids would sleep in the tent for the night. This was so cool just being with the kids and we told bedtime stories til they fell aslepp- didn’t take long, I think I definitely need to work on my story telling.


On Tuesday we had our final game of volleyball. We are officially the worst volley team! We always get so close to winning but we don’t quite make it! But that’s alright had so much fun with my team that’s all that matters to me ☺ After the volley games we headed to marissas house to have official Canadian smores- as it was Kates last night ☹ we had such a nice time and the smores were amazing… mia and I couldn’t help ourselves.. im thinking maybe I am stockpiling for my travels.. better not stockpile to much the clothes have definitely got tighter!
I took kate to the train this morning- didn’t feel like a proper goodbye but I guess it never does- I’m still looking for her at the pool though! I want to go and visit when I head to England.

On Friday there was meant to be a volley party at pool- was open until 3am which I was so excited about- but turns out no one was going they were all going to a fiesta mayor- in the month of august every year each town has a street party that lasts 2 weeks and theres carnivals /dancing etc. We had so much fun at the carnival and we all rode the bucking bulls which we almost pissed ourselves laughing was so much fun! Then we danced the night away as per usual all in all very good weekend.

I spent the afternoon with the family chilling by the pool then we decided to head to the café for my last dinner ☹ we came back and my family gave me a present- a gorgeous necklace with grapes on it to remind me of the vineyards here and maybe the large quantity of wine consumed as well? They also gave me 200 euro I was shocked and didn’t want to accept it but they gave it to me for my travels/ or if I want to come back and visit. That was so amazing of them and now I will be able to come back as before I just couldn’t afford it ! After this Nuria started to cry and me as well and we were both really upset but we pulled it together and had a really lovely night at the café with my family and Mia’s family as well! I am going to miss them all so much! Nuria was so upset all night and wouldn’t leave my side. I knew tomorrow would be worse. We headed home and I tucked them into bed and again the tears came and I had to leave before I broke down- and I heard Santi comforting them! It must be so hard for them to have these people who come into their home whom they form really good relationships with and then have to see them go every 6 months or soo… I don’t know how they do it…

I said goodbye to my family this morning I was so upset and even Roser cried, It just felt so final! We will definitely keep in touch they are definitely part of my family and I hope one day they will come to New Zealand! But I have to be so thankful for the amazing opportunities and adventures I have had here! It has been the best experience so far!


Spain has been the most amazing experience I thought this would just be sort of a pit stop on my travels to learn the language etc and did not imagine how amazing it would be. I have loved every moment of it and if this was all the travel I could do this year I would be satisfied, every other place is a bonus. The other au pairs are amazing we are the most unlikely group and if we were in any other situation we wouldn’t have the friendship we do- but I am so grateful I have been able to share this experience with them and will never forget the awesome memories we had here. Also my volleyball team and friends in Sant lLorens it wouldn’t have been the same without you. But the most important has been my family, I could not have found a better family if I tried! I truly felt like a member of the family which is the biggest thing in a situation like this. I will miss my parents here so much its so hard to describe everything they did to make my experience memorable. I will miss the girls like crazy I feel like they are my little sisters or cousins.

i will add my family photos etc the next blog 😊

Its funny you don’t realize how you weren’t yourself until you return. While I have been here I have been so happy, genuinely every day I wake up with a smile on my face and enjoy even the smallest moments here. I think I lost that in between school/working and everything else going on and here has given me the time to find it again. I wish everybody could experience this just a complete realization that you life is your life it can be however you want it to be. It has opened my eyes to what I want to do with my life and the important things- especially family! I MISS YOU GUYS!



Anyways enough of the mushy stuff…..Get excited for the next blogs.. I will try to update weekly as will have too much to write. The next months plans are:

Turkey- Istanbul, cappadochia, olympos and pamakkule
Greece- santorini!!!
morocco- 10 day topdeck- like contiki tour
Return to spain to Valencia for la tomatina- lara comes!
then the adventures continue……

Things to cook when I get back:

Gazpacho!! Mmm!
Tortilla de patatas
Patatas bravas with special sauce
Spring onions with special sauce
Sangria + wine and Fanta lemon- they mix fizzy drink with wine and beer soooo good though!
Fanta lemon and beer

Get excited family!!! ☺



Additional photos below
Photos: 92, Displayed: 31


Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb