Homeward bound


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
March 19th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FatimaFatimaFatima

Reminds me of St Peters in Rome. What do you think?
Well, its like this! I am now back in Spain, Salamanca to be precise, and have less than five weeks of my journey to go before I return to the UK. That means this is likely to be my penultimate entry. I am homeward bound.

Portugal has been a magical place for me. Starting in Beja, a town near the middle of the country, surrounded by flat lands and cork plantations. I then moved south east to Monte Gordo, on the Algarve and worked my way west to Faro. Here I picked up an old friend (Ken) from the airport and we travelled to the small town of Luz, for a week of luxury in an appartment owned by a good friend of mine (thanks Tony, much appreciated).

From there, we travelled around the rest of the coast and had a jolly good time eating and drinking at bars and restraunts. The weather has now become much milder and I have started to regain the tan I acquired last summer. All things come to an end, however and returned to England.

I then proceeded north, back to Beja, to see some friends I had made, then on to
Lous 1 Bridge - PortoLous 1 Bridge - PortoLous 1 Bridge - Porto

You can walk along by the trains for a spectacular view of the city
Evora and Lisbon. Lisbon, what a place! I camped out by the river for three days and visited some spectacular sights. the most memorable thing of the city, however, was the trams; tiny, old, rickety and charming, they go up and down steep hills and along the riverside at speeds that trams should not be capable of (ear to ear grin stuff).

Next, I moved on toward Porto, in the north, via a number of interesting towns that I wanted to visit. The one that captured my interest the most was a place called Fatima. This is a centre for pilgrims who come to visit a sight where the virgin Mary was seen to appear, by three children in the early part of the last century. Those who know me will find this strange, as I have no religous beliefs, christian or otherwise. However, it was the strange mix of the church that looks like a modern St Peters (judge for yourself, from the picture) and the town that seems to sell religous artifacts in a Vagas style. I mean no offence by this, I is mearly how it seemed to me.

Porto was a very different experience from Lisbon and the Algarve. With some area rather run down, it was a place that I was not sure about at first. After three days there though, I found a charm that made me enjoy the place for what it was, a working city. The port wine lodges are well worth a visit ( I went to Taylors and had an excellent time. They even had dry white port for me to taste).

From Porto, I travelled along the Douro valley, which is extremely beautiful and down to Cericio, where I made friends with a couple who Live there (Ray and Do), and stayed at their place for a few days (saw some properties that I liked and could afford, just need to learn Portugees and get a job).

My last stop in Portugal was at a town called Guards, near the Spanish border. It turned out to be rather a dissapointment, very quiet and quite cold (had hoped to celebrate St Patricks day there). Never mind!

Salamanca, is a beautiful place, with an amazing university that I have had the pleasure of looking around (oh! to lecture in some of the rooms there). My next stop is Madrid, a place that I have been looking forward to visiting for some years now. Hopefully it will not dis-appoint!

Finally, the answers to last entrys questions.
The Seat Marbella was a copy of the Fiat Panda
Generalife means Architect's garden
The tree is a Dragon Tree

Wekk done Dominic, two out of three aint bad.
I am not doing anymore questions, as there seems to be little response to them now (sorry Dom).

Advertisement



19th March 2007

See you soon
Glad to hear that all is well. Looking forward to seeing you when you get back.
19th March 2007

Portugal
HI Dave sorry i've not been in touch for a while, you know how work is????? portugal looks and sounds lovely, it's one country i've always fancied exploring. what are your plans afetr your travels or are you putting that off until you have to think about it? take care. Simon

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb