Down to Toledo


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
July 31st 2013
Published: July 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Tagus RiverTagus RiverTagus River

This actually is the same river that flows through Lisbon!
Can't write much today - mainly because I forgot my computer plug in Madrid, and my laptop is almost out. Fortunately I connect back in Madrid tomorrow, and the hotel has it. Thank God.

Toledo today, just briefly, was brutally hot, although it truly is a beautiful town. A lot like an Italian hill town again. Tons of walking and sweating. Toledo, also, most famously, is the town of El Greco, and his art is everywhere here. There's also an absolutely massive Cathedral. I'll probably write more once I have my cord back, but for now the pictures should suffice.

Looks like the battery is holding out, so I'll write a bit more. Caught the train from Madrid Atocha, and actually had to go through security, like an airport. But they did have a terrorist attack here awhile back, so I guess it makes sense. Also, since I'm basically just rambling, and writing whatever comes into my head, Toledo has once of the largest cathedrals I've been to in Spain, but honestly I really wasn't that impressed. Maybe I'm just jaded, though - having been to too many cathedrals recently. But in Spain I've noticed a lot of cathedrals
Santa Cruz MuseumSanta Cruz MuseumSanta Cruz Museum

Great El Greco's here.
are just too over-done. Like there's too much clutter everywhere. I like simpler places.

Okay, batteries going down, but all should be well tomorrow. Sorry for the mad ravings.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

El GrecoEl Greco
El Greco

Wonderful, almost Modern painting for the early 1600s. Elongated.
Another GrecoAnother Greco
Another Greco

He also has great color, and a true sense of swirling mysticism.
El Greco DetailEl Greco Detail
El Greco Detail

Thought it was great because the figure looks like it's coming out of the painting because of the foreshortening.
Greco View of ToledoGreco View of Toledo
Greco View of Toledo

In one corner, this actually is Toledo.
St. Christopher! St. Christopher!
St. Christopher!

The first I've seen in awhile. The patron saint of travelers.
Toledo CathedralToledo Cathedral
Toledo Cathedral

Truly is a massive place.
Typical Toledo Street Typical Toledo Street
Typical Toledo Street

This town winds and twists.
View of Tagus Valley from ToledoView of Tagus Valley from Toledo
View of Tagus Valley from Toledo

Dry, barren landscape.
Nice archwayNice archway
Nice archway

Toledo actually was once a thriving Islamic town, and it shows, such as in this Moorish horse-shoe arch.


Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb