Settled in,,,


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
January 22nd 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

DSC00977DSC00977DSC00977

A view from a window in the school..I just thought it was neat.
Hola,
Today is Tuesday
So have begun… So far they are good! I learned today that El Greco (famous painter) lived in the city I am living in right now  pretty cool, especially since this city is pretty small-at least the old part of it.
This weekend was fairly uneventful. Just hung out, slept a TON, checked out the park nearby..
Yesterday I met my host mom’s daughter and grandkid.. oooo she is so adorable! She’s two and her name is Ana. She went crazy when she saw her grandparents.. .it was great. She just looked at me with questioning eyes the whole time.. “Who the *** are you?”
Friday our school is going to Madrid for the day That should be a good time. A lot of people are staying there for the night.. but I am definitely coming back! I guess also there is a big party in Toledo that night. I’m not sure what for yet, but I guess the whole city takes part! Should be fun.
One of the funniest things about being here is how the people are reacting to the weather. Right now it is winter for them, but their winter is NOTHING like
DSC00978DSC00978DSC00978

This is right on the main shopping street in Toledo.. very close to my family's store.
ours. Toledo doesn’t get snow, just rain (but not a ton). The northern part of Spain is getting snow, which isn’t very common. Anyway, it’s been around 40-50 degrees here.. a few days have been on the chillier side.. but nothing major. I’ve been wearing my winter jacket, but only because I don’t have a lighter one! Only maybe two days have I actually NEEDED my winter jacet. Anyway, the natives here bundle up like we do when it is -10! Today was a beautiful (to us Minnesoootans).. A bunch of sun, and just cool outside, but I definitely saw many many people wearing a winter hat, a scarf that was covering their mouth, a big, warm, furry winter jacket, and mittens! Super funny… My host mom always wonders how I can survive without my jacket. “The American girls always walk around without jackets!” My host dad understands why though. 

Today is Thursday. I’ve had all my classes now and so far, I think they are going to be great I don’t have classes on Friday’s…It’s kind of set aside for traveling They are all in Spanish, which gets a bit tiring, but I’m really liking it. I’m
Plaza de ZocodoverPlaza de ZocodoverPlaza de Zocodover

The main Plaza in Toledo...
working on taking notes in Spanish too.

So I think I have decided to go to Greece over my Spring break with another girl here! Just something random I thought I would share 

Nothing really new to share. I took a few new pictures.. Hope you enjoy them!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Plaza de ZocodoverPlaza de Zocodover
Plaza de Zocodover

yup, that's a McDonalds


Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb