In Toledo, Spain :) Finally


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Im here! What a crazy time getting here.

Last night was tough. I missed people, and I had no way to communicate with people back home while I was at home here! (My host family doesn't have internet. It's expensive to have it..) BUT today I woke up, had a great talk with my host mom, and went to the school to go on a tour of Toledo. I rode the bus to school ALL by myself😊 And it went great! I made it to the school, no problem. The bus doesn't (and can't) go all the way to the school though because the rodes are so small. The whole town it extremely old. It has the original streets and buildings..

THe tour of Toledo was beautiful, and a little cold! I am SO happy I brought my winter jacket! I thought I was going to regret bringing it, but I definitely do not. The weather is still very nice though, especially compared to Minnesota that is having crazy lows! -33??? That's insane... Here it's about 45, 50 F. Apparently that's unusually cold here. My host family told me that this will probably be the coldest month, and then things will warm up!
Anyway! The tour... We rode a bus around Toledo- the original part of Toledo is surrounded by walls- We rode the bus around Toledo on the other side of the river that surrounds Toledo. You can tell in some of the pictures I am posting..

When we did the walking part of the tour, we came across a Giant escalator outside built into the side of the hill! Hopefully you can tell from the pictures. It was a very weird feeling going up that escalator! haha.

When we came back, I went to the phone store (Movistar) and bought a phone. I can receive calls for free, so if you have a calling card and want to call me, go right ahead! Just email me to get my phone number😊 It's funny though because the phone system here is NOTHING like the US. It's still not organized.. It costs money to call people within the city, whether on a land line or a mobile. This means that from the cell phone I bought, to call my host family's cell phone, it costs me 59 cents..But to call the US?? 15 cents!! Just crazy haha

I then decided to go buy some shampoo and soap and what-not since I didn't think my bag would be coming. After that, returned to the school to find out that my bag was in MADRID!! YAY!!! It would be coming tomorrow... From there, I went to my host family's tienda (store) which is very close to the school. Both my host parents work there, and they eat lunch there each day 😊 SO I joined them in a kitchen they have above another store. So far all of the food has been good! A little bit different, but nothing scary😊 Tonight my host mom told me we are going to be having fish, potatoe soup..and of course pan (bread). I saw the fish that we are going to be eating yesterday in the kitchen! A whole fish with teeth and eyes! haha! Speaking of fish,

There is a street literally called Fish Street because there are so many stores selling fish. It's neat! But stinks a little😊

Finally.. I was back at the school not to long ago trying to get my internet to work when a guy who works for the school found me to tell me MY LUGGAGE WAS HERE! IN THE LOBBY!! You can't imagine how happy I was...and am 😊

So now, I have working internet, my luggage, a cell phone to talk to family and friends, and I think I am getting comfortable with my family😊

I'll write again soon!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Painted building!Painted building!
Painted building!

A few buildings look like they have this pretty stone around the windows and what not, but it's all a painting! The mirror, the brick, the stone.. funny:)


17th January 2009

I just had to read your blog Tiffany!! I soooo wish I could do that all over again :-) Enjoy it while you are there and be sure to take tons of pictures and save them so you don't lose 'em!!! Buena Suerte con toda!!! :-)
20th January 2009

Hello!
Hi Honey! I'm so happy everything is working out for you now. I can't believe the story about the luggage - you are a much stronger person than I am. I think I would have fallen to pieces! The pictures you are sending are beautiful - somewhat better than, oh, EVERYTHING here! Your mom misses you tons, but she is so happy that you are taking this opportunity. I agree wholeheartedly - I wish I would have taken those opportunities when I was your age. Keep sending more pics and take care! Oh, tell your host parents you'd like your fish with a little less "assembly required." Later! :-) Esser/Blair
22nd January 2009

Student Exchanges sure have Changed....
Hello, I stumbled upon your blog and it's really cute. I was once an exchange student in 1981....can you believe it? we didn't have the internet, digital cameras, or International long distance telephone calls.....we had to endure long spells without hearing from family or friends. I think I was able to get ONE call through. I am struck at how much things have changed for students today. Instant communications all across the globe, and so easy. Enjoy your time in Spain, and enjoy being away from everything! REally---you are a lucky girl to be out in the world, read and learn as much Spanish as possible! this will be the best lesson ever. Buena suerte. Cristobal.
25th January 2009

I'm such a goof!
I've read everything and looked at your beautiful pic's. Here I sit so proud and happy for you with tears streaming down my cheeks, I'm such a goof. I'm so very happy that you got your luggage. I KNOW you were thrilled to have your stuff around you! Everything sounds so exotic and exciting! I look forward to more pic's and notes on your stay. You are so loved here! YOur Grandma Dee loves your hair, and so do I. We are all ok, trying to get over the niffles. Take care and have fun!!
16th March 2009

Hi Tiffany, I stumbled onto your blog while looking for my daughters. She is studying in Toledo and got there around the same time you did. I lost her blog site and was looking when I found your site. I agree with your mom - you girls are a lot stronger than I was at your age. I hope you enjoy your opportunity to live and learn in Spain. My daughter can't get over the fact that there are "no clothes dryers" in Toledo. Have fun.

Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb