Girls' Holiday in Mallorca, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
July 28th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After I finally was on the train I managed to calm down a bit. In the back of my mind I kept thinking about the fact that I had left everything I own here in suitcases in a strange place. However, I did get over that once I made it to Luton Airport. We had little problems getting to Mallorca. Our first evening in Palma consisted of sangria and tapas at a local plaza.

Mallorca has been around for centuries. It was invaded by the Romans, and later the Arabs - it actually has Arab baths. What I found the most interesting about the city was looking at a catherdral on one side, and then turning around and seeing the Mediterranean Sea with its bluegreen waters and resort type buildings. Downtown Palma was adorable ... sunny filled streets with typically "spanish" shops and tapas restaurants. I learned that the dominant language is "Mallorcino" which is a completely different dialect of spanish. Although I was able to understand most of what was being said, I had a hard time communicating back.

My favorite moment in Mallorca was breakfast on Sunday. We sat down to a traditional breakfast at a bar, consisting of churiso/cheese and wonderful Spanish coffee. As I headed back to the restroom I saw the cook, chugging down a bottle of vokda! It was then that I realized the entire place had a beer or other alcoholic beverage next to their coffees! It seems as if we were the only ones drinking "coffees" on this side of Palma.

The weekend consisted mostly of beaches, swimming, tapas and sangria. A perfect weekend quite honestly. I plan on returning to Mallorca as soon as possible. The culture of Spain is one that I truly adore ... the people are friendly and fun and the atmosphere is always upbeat and welcoming!

I am starting to feel like the end of TASIS is looming ... although I am not "ready" I am looking forward to spending some time traveling through Austria and driving on the Autobahn. I will then start teaching again in Switzerland. Part 1 is almost over ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb