Climbing the foothills of the Pyrenees


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Aragon
April 23rd 2014
Published: April 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 – Climbing the foothills of the Pyrenees

April 21, 2014

We wake up around 6 am at least I did. Kirsten tossed and turned all night. Yeah, we need to find a hotel with softer beds.

I shower and I’m down to breakfast in less than 30 minutes. Updated my blog stuff and enjoying the entire restaurant to myself. Well until the rest of the guests started arriving. Wow can these Spaniards eat…

Kirsten arrives and says momma and daddy are on their way.

We all have a nice breakfast and create a picnic lunch for later.

We leave LLEIDA and are heading north toward BALAGUER from there we pick up the C12 and head toward AGER.

Along the way we find a monastery from the 11th century. Yes, like really old. We eat our picnic lunch and it was great.

As were traveling over the mountains Kirsten spots a small grocery store we all go in and stock up on cheese, fruit, wine and what ever else we can stuff into the cart.

We circled the village 6 maybe 8 times, looking for the Ibis Budget. It’s NOT HERE!!!!

Finally I run into the first hotel, it’s $110 Euros. It’s nice but hell will freeze over before Kirsten and Hedy stay there. I told you I’m screwed. So the next hotel we find is $60 Euros. I made the mistake and said yes. I go back to the car and tell Kirsten and Omi it’s $50. That went over like a ROCK! We drive around the village 3-4 more times, No hotel to be had, back to the $60 hotel. Not only did it cost more it has no WIFI.

Did I mention it’s raining?

Dinner isn’t until 9PM so we have our second picnic in the common area of the hotel while playing cards. Opa continues to win. It’s amazing or Kirsten is cheating so he can win.

It’s 9 pm and Opa and Oma are heading to their room. Kirsten & I have a late dinner, the server doesn’t speak English and Kirsten’s kitchen Spanish isn’t cutting it.

So we’re down to hand signals and drawing it on paper. Finally we cave and say just feed us. It was delicious.

It’s 11:30 pm I’m tired and ready for some well-deserved rest.

Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 17; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb