Hello Sevilla


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
October 14th 2010
Published: October 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in the afternoon after a ‘small world’ flight from Barcelona. I am on the plane sitting next to 2 Americans. Turns out the guy works at a buying agency and does a lot of work with the Weather Channel. He knows my old boss very well. Such a small world! He and his girlfriend were super sweet. They even gave me a ride to my hostel as they had rented a car for their trip.

So, I am staying at my 1st hostel in Europe. I am staying at the top rated hostel in Seville. Hmmmmm…. I haven’t stayed in a hostel abroad since Australia over 10+ years ago. I forgot what it is like. It is a free for all I guess. I was assigned a top bunk. No one showed up, so I slept on the bottom bunk. I have banged my head about 15 times in the past 24 hours as these are some small beds. OUCH. I don’t even remember the last time I slept in a bunk bed. I signed up for the paella and sangria evening. I went to the store get some wine and water. It turns out one of the girls in my room was from Indiana and it was her birthday. So, she met me on the roof for some wine. We met an aussie, a Swedish dude, an Austrian dude, and before we knew it the roof was packed with people from all over the world. I was of course overwhelmed as I want to learn about everyone! A majority of the people who are here are students who are studying abroad. This is the week that they search for apartments and meet many fellow students.

The guy from Sweden started ripping on Americans. He said we are all cocky and act as if we own the place. I told him he sounded like a dickhead. It took him a minute to make sense of the term ‘dickhead’. He said he is referring to all other Americans, not me… OYE. I enjoyed talking to the aussie guy as he quit his job and is doing world travels. He is around my age if I had to guess. He was supposed to take an overnight bus to Portugal; however after his 6th glass of sangria, he rearranged his plans. I then started chatting with a girl from LA. She just finished law school and is started her job in December. Smart gal - she is traveling through mid November. We agreed to meet in the morning and see some sites.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb