El día de Acción de Gracias- The day of the Action of Thanks


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
November 28th 2009
Published: November 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

YummyYummyYummy

"Lindsey, you're getting way too artistic with that. It's food."
I think the Spanish translation of Thanksgiving is hilarious. It's just so wordy and so ridiculously descriptive. It’s not a Spanish holiday though, so I guess it’s just that no one cared enough to put anymore thought into it.

Since no mythical pilgrims landed in Spain and had a life-saving meal with the natives on the third Thursday of whatever November it was, the Spanish really don't care about Thanksgiving. I know this, but I still tried to make jokes to a few Spanish friends… “So what did YOU do for Thanksgiving? Heh…” “We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving. It’s an American holiday.” Sigh. So there’s no November turkey rush in Spain, but ISA understands that we Americans would still enjoy celebrating our holiday, so they put on a dinner for us at the Hotel Becquer. Though it wasn’t exactly the same, it was still a nice thought. Blueberry sauce instead of cranberry, plain veggies instead of stuffing… but there was turkey and mashed potatoes & gravy… mmmm… Then for dessert, the pumpkin pie actually wasn’t too bad, but they put a strange sugary sauce on it that had some sort of gummy candy in it. Uh, hello, didn’t anyone tell them
Un-American!Un-American!Un-American!

I guess we can't expect too much... it isn't their flag...
about cool whip? Oh no, just got a craving that cannot be satisfied until Christmas… :/ They also had put up an American flag, I suppose as a kind gesture, but we realized about halfway through the meal that it was actually upside-down. Whoops

I remember at the very beginning of the trip, at orientation, one of the directors was giving us a summary of how the semester would be and he mentioned that at Thanksgiving, we would all get together for a dinner, classes would be almost over, and we would be feeling really good. It's so hard to believe that it's here, and I have, what, three weeks left? Three weeks and I will be home, back to real life, just in time for Christmas (my favorite!), and off to my last semester of school. Ready for it or not, life is coming at me quickly... end reflective paragraph.

So it was a strange holiday for many reasons. I went to class, went shopping, and then after the dinner, went to a discoteca, where we danced the night away… or at least half of it (still not up to Spaniard partying capabilities). I haven't gone out to a discoteca in a long time, and it was amusing observing the Spanish girl-snagging methodology. There was the overly-confident guy and his wing man, the poor well-meaning awkward guy, the aggressive dancer who sneaks up on you... Generally too skeptical to be taken in, I have to admit I finally fell for mysterious guy making eyes from across the room, only to be disappointed by the lack of phone call this weekend. How does it happen that the people I don't want to hear from call me 3 times a day, but when I'm finally interested, I get nothing? Come on, Spain! Cut me some slack here! Three weeks, though, there wouldn't be much point. We'll just say that he was put off by that. 😊

Tonight is the birthday party of a friend, my first Spanish house party (and probably only, because they're practically non-existent here)! Exciting...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb