First Day of School


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville » Triana
February 4th 2013
Published: February 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

La Universidad de SevillaLa Universidad de SevillaLa Universidad de Sevilla

Picture of the entrance to my school!
First day of school! We all talked about how we felt like freshmen again, lost in this huge school and speaking terrible Spanish. We'll get the hang of it soon, I hope.

I went to 3 classes today, 2 of which I have decided not to take haha. One was not interesting and the other was too basic of a level of class for me. I'm going to try a few new classes tomorrow and then I think I'll have my schedule pretty much set for the rest of the week! It won't be official for another week or so though.

All of my professors were very nice and not very intimidating, like I expected. I have alot of people from my program in my classes so we can study together which will be nice!

This is a long week, homestay adjustment, lots of classes, more than I will be taking when things settle down, and I guess it's my birthday? Actually I've techinically already turned 21 here. Doesn't feel like it, I probably would have forgotten except that the girls in my group are really excited about taking me out and dressing up tomorrow night, it feels
PastelPastelPastel

Pastel de chocolate, sooo delicious!
good to have people to celebrate with, even though I wish I was home to celebrate with all my friends and family!

We're planning on going out for dinner tomorrow night (Tuesday) and then drinks at a bar, and maybe some dancing! Things probably won't be open late so we're not planning on doing too much. However, this Friday our program is going to explore Malaga, a southern, coastal city of Spain for the day. Then on Saturday there's this famous Carnival en Cadiz that's similar to Mardi Gras in New Orleans. It's a big street party where no one sleeps (don't freak out mom). There's a huge group of us planning on going for the night and coming back early Sunday, we're counting that as part of my birthday celebration, which will be a lot of fun! I'm super excited for that 😊

The ISA program took us all out for dinner tonight to a nice restaurant where we had paella and different tapas. It was nice to eat some good food for a change, the homestay is lacking that as of now.

I'll update more post-birthday celebrations tomorrow!

Check out some pictures of what
MercadoMercadoMercado

This is a market like 2 minutes from my apartment here, it all looks delicious! The food I've been craving lately...
I've been doing the last few days on here...

Love,

Haley

Advertisement



5th February 2013

Happy 21st!
Haley, Happy Birthday! I wish you a wonderful day in your beautiful new city with good friends. Don't worry we will still celebrate when you get home. Great news about school. I am so glad the professors were kind and one of the classes was too basic. That is should make you feel better. I bet Malaga will be gorgeous on the coast and the weekend carnival sounds like fun. I am sorry the home stay is not going as well. I hope that things get better, including the food. Love you, miss you Amy
6th February 2013

Thank you!
Thanks Amy :) I'm excited to celebrate with you when I get home to Madison! I miss you very much, I wish you were here to share everything with me, you would love it. Thanks for the support, I hope the homestay gets better as well, we'll see what happens!

Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb