Giant adult water fight


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Salobreña
June 24th 2012
Published: June 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

3 hours of sleep later I think I have partially recovered from last night! We went to Lanjaron for the Fiesta del Agua and afterwards went to Salobreña for a big bonfire and late night ocean swimming! We arrived in Lanjaron around 9/930 pm and there was a giant parade with probably 20 different floats of people with music and crazy costumes and facepaint etc etc. driving down the one “big” road in Lanjaron, this little mountain town about 30 minutes away from Granada. We hung out for a little just dancing and drinking tinto and hanging out with everyone until the water fight that started at 12. There were thousands of people crammed into this street running around with buckets, water guns, water balloons etc., their source of water? The fire hoses that the locals had plugged into fire hydrants and were spraying on the crowd, then you have the people who live along the streets dumping gigantic buckets of water onto people, and using their hoses to spray you as well. Its basically the most gigantic waste of water ever, but it’s so much fun! I thought I would be freezing but with everyone around you you get so warm that you temporarily forget about the fact that you’re soaked to the bone. Before the water fight even started I got caught in cross fire of a a couple of locals dosing eachother with water and one of them came over to apologize. I kid you not five minutes later he asked if he could come back to America with me because he could swear he was in love with me. You know, while it is annoying having them blatantly hit on you, I am sure girls here love it because there is never that grey BS where they don't know what boys are thinking. Anyways, we went back to the bus and changed into warm, dry clothing and headed to the beach where we sat by a bonfire for a few hours and just hung out.. A few of us brave souls decided to take a little swim at 430 or 5 ish, and the water was not nearly as cold as I was expecting, however, swimming in a dark abyss is not exactly the most comforting thing, so I stuck to wear I could stand. Lemme tell you though, if I had not already learned this, or expressed it to ya’ll, Spaniards party very hard. Holy cow, I think that this whole crisis thing and the whole no one having a job thing has really increased their enthusiasm for late night fun because they have zero responsibilities in the morning.

Other than that it has been a relatively relaxing week, we started planning our trip to Paris for next weekend (woops- a little late on that!) but it should be fun. The pool has been a life saver because on these 98- 104 degree days, not having air condition leaves you basically sweating profusely if you move more than an inch. And there is no relief at night so it has not exactly been the most comforting sleep this past week. It would be one thing if there was a fan or something close to that to bring in air from outside, but instead you can just feel how cold it is outside at night and get frustrated over the fact that the air refuses to cross the window frame. AHHH! Oh well, life goes on.

Our host sister has been dating this boy Ismael for like 7 or 8 years and the other night when he was over I said something about wanting to ride a vespa, and he told my roommate and I that he will take us both out next week for a ride around the city! What a guy. My host mom said hes an even better Moto driver than her son, so not to fret mom and dad J

I have to stop procrastinating and write my dumb papers for my finals. I have never hated poetry so much in my life. For those of you that love it, I officially think you’re crazy, although you can probably say the same about me and science. Still, last time I checked water symbolizes water, not peacefulness, tranquility, pensiveness blah blah blah.

Hasta luego

Am

Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb