One week down


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
April 20th 2012
Published: April 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Couple more photos on the way for previous blog entries. The stupid computer doesn't like my camera and won't let me upload them.

I'm now one week down of a two week Spanish language course and my brain is very much ready for a rest. My vocabulary has increased a little, but I'm still only about 0.0001% into understanding what and how to use the little words that tie a sentance together.

I'm in the suburbs of Málaga, which fortunately means it's only about a 10 minute bus ride to the city. I've seen a little bit of the city centre and will hopefully see some more this afternoon. Apparently this is the birthplace of Picasso. Hopefully I will see some of his artwork when I travel to Madrid later in my trip. I'm not as a big a fan of cubism as I am some other styles of art, but it does interest me and I'm keen to check out his work called Guernica, based on an event at the town of the same name during the civil war.

Went to the beach the other day for a BBQ with some others who are here who studying Spanish. The beach is just a couple of hundred metres from the school. But I didn't realise we were actually going to a spot on the beach a few kilometres down the road, so I didn't take a jumper. Fortunately after a couple of hours, I had a liquid blanket (thanks to Charlotte in Cádiz for that new turn of phrase to add to my répertoire).

Went to the pub after that to watch the second half of a Champions League match with the guys from the beach, then back to their place for a chat and drinks. Finally stumbled into bed at around 4am. So I was well in need of a siesta after finishing my classes the next morning.

I'm off to Ronda tomorrow! Apparently this is a good thing. Nice town, in the hills of Andalusia. But in truth, I don't really know anything about the place yet, so I don't really have any more to say about that.

I was hoping to go to Granada after Málaga, but I just found out Spain owns a little piece of land in Africa, across the Mediteranean and I can get a return ticket on a ship for 70 Euros. Of course from there I can easily get to Morroco, so I'm thinking I might do that for a few days. Still don't know what I'll do in Morroco and apparently English is not very common there. Berber, Arabic, French and Spanish, but not English. That could really test my Spanish! But although Morroco is working harder than so many other African countries to become stable and progressive, I've heard it is still half a world away from Spain. Which to me is as good a reason as any to go there.

Finding it a little bit difficult and different than I expected at my host families place. There are three other girls staying there and we eat seperate from the family at meal times. The room where I am sleeping is below the main house and is locked seperately from the rest of the house. So I am away from the family and hardly see any of them apart from the mother at meal times.

Better go grab some lunch and get stuck into some Spanish study. One of my classmates' birthday is today and is having a party. Just hope I can control myself so I don't miss the trip to Ronda tomorrow.

¡Adios!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb