Happy 4th of July from Malaga!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
July 6th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DSCN5626DSCN5626DSCN5626

Blue perfection
To prevent myself from becoming too sad being away my very first 4th of July, a beach was the only option. I saw Odin off to Madrid on Saturday, and boarded a separate bus heading south to the beautiful city of Malaga! A couple girls from my program were there and I planned on meeting them for the rest of the weekend-easy enough?
WELL,
I had some character building travel lessons this past weekend.
1.) Get exact address of hostel
2.) Know all other possible names of the hostel
3.) Don't ask locals on the street for directions...only workers.
4.) If all else fails, HAVE a backup plan.

Long stories short I was on a wild goose chase around the city trying to find the hostel to meet the girls at. After entering a gated driveway and getting directed 2 km the opposite way by the owner, picking a guys lottery numbers in order to get directions, asking 4 different hostels where mine was, and 3 hours later, my prayers were answered. I spotted 2 of the girls I was meeting just randomly on the street! They lead me right to the hostel (which was actually very close to where
DSCN5623DSCN5623DSCN5623

Im in love with the Mediterranean Sea.
I was) When we arrived I was confused because I had been past the place-looking for the "Malaga School Hostel" sign. They pointed to the sign that read the name of the hostel, and it was not bigger than a post-it on the intercom and informed me the hostel had only been open for 3 days. THAT explained a lot.

After my crazy morning, we all hit up the perfection of the Mediterranean Sea. Nothing to calm someone down like the 40 C weather, and rush of a saltwater wave. The rest of my 4th of July was spent relaxing in the sun 😊
For dinner, I was looking for some American food but was satisfied by something much better. Specific to Malaga, I had a Shoaroma (not sure on the spelling) And Steph and Andy I apologize for no documentation of this mouthwatering treat. It was a pita pocket filled with a shredded meat and lettuce combo, and a specific sauce drizzled over. I planned on getting another 15 of them before I left-but they were closed the next day as it was Sunday 😞

Sunday-we took a hike to the Alcazaba/Palace which was an amazing view
DSCN5633DSCN5633DSCN5633

Libre=free
of the city. Pretty intense hike; it was 41C at 11:00 am=perfect hiking weather! After, we wondered around different plazas and parks seeing the city.
Later we "beach hopped" down several different beaches with private lagoons and awesome views of ship ports, and The Sea in general.

The weekend ended WAY to fast, but I guess that just gives me the excuse to return some day 😊
Besos!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

DSCN5638DSCN5638
DSCN5638

La Alcazaba
DSCN5647DSCN5647
DSCN5647

Hikers at the lookout
DSCN5648DSCN5648
DSCN5648

Bull fight ring in the middle of town
DSCN5645DSCN5645
DSCN5645

steeeeeeep
DSCN5649DSCN5649
DSCN5649

Malaga
DSCN5650DSCN5650
DSCN5650

The stairs that weaved us up to the top
DSCN5657DSCN5657
DSCN5657

A gym on the beach!
DSCN5659DSCN5659
DSCN5659

The white piece of paper is the sign I was looking for...


20th July 2009

Aquabug?
Is this some sort of aquabug hunt you were on to find that sign of your hostel? Glad it worked out for you!!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb