In recent news...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
February 28th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturday - our program organized an excursion to Ronda for us. Ronda is a small town in the mountains behind Malaga, with traces of its Islamic influence still present. It was raining but we made the best of it... Even in the rain I could see the beauty of the landscape. The entire city is built on a cliff and the gorges are... well, gorgeous. The city is also a lot bigger than I had expected (I was looking forward to dirt paths and donkeys...). I'd love to go back some sunny day in the future because it's only about an hour and 1/2 bus ride away from Malaga.

The rest of the week was filled with classes and organizing several trips. This week only had 3 school days because Thursday is Andalucia Day... conveniently enough the rule here is that if a holiday falls on a Thursday, there are also no classes that Friday. Hence, I spent the entire day off on Thursday sleeping in and running along the beach. The weather was beautiful today, I couldn't help myself from stopping and just staring at the ocean every once in a while. I'm still not really used to the idea that I live here and that I can go to the beach anytime I want.
On my way home I ran into some of my friends from the program (small world, eh) and we enjoyed our first day relaxing on the beach. I returned home 4 hours after leaving to go 'go for a run' and I was sure Carolina thought I was dead. But she was peacefully taking a siesta on the couch.
I myself have been sleeping a lot more than I am used to back in MN. I find myself with time to spare (since I don't have a job... for the first time in... 6 years) and truly exhausted from all the spanish. So I take a siesta every now and then, in true spanish style. But I am looking forward to finding a job here. I'm not sure whether I'd rather work in a restaurant/bar setting or tutoring children or doing something psychology-related at the hospital... the options are endless, since I can work legally here in Spain thanks to the EU.

Four of my friends from the program and I have decided to spend the coming weekend in Morocco. We found a
when mosques turn into churcheswhen mosques turn into churcheswhen mosques turn into churches

the cathedral in Ronda
tour that takes students from Andalucia to Morocco each weekend for a reasonable price. We probably could have cut some costs traveling to Morocco by ourselves but the main reason to go with the organized tour was safety. All of us being girls, and half of us being blond, we thought it'd be best to stick with a tour guide. I'm nervous to enter a new world - somewhere completely different from anywhere I've ever been before - but at the same time extremely excited. It'll be an adventure. We are staying in a hotel in Tetouan and visiting Tanger and Chef-Chaouen. These are the main cities in the northern tip of Morocco and we'll get to see some incredible history as well as modern Morocco city life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb