The Alhambra


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
June 13th 2013
Published: June 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Me on top of a tower overlooking the city in the Alcazar of the Alhambra.
I took my time this morning eating my breakfast and getting ready. I was planning on visiting the Alhambra today, but my time allowed wasn't until 2. So I decided to explore some other parts of Granada that I haven't seen yet. I decided to walk through all of the souvenir shops close to my hostal. Guess who I see sitting outside one of the stores. The phone number guy from yesterday. A plethora of things crossed my mind. I didn’t want it to be awkward since I didn't call, so I thought about escaping. Of course he saw me and started to talk to me. We talked for a couple of minutes and I looked in his shop. I told him I had to leave because I had to go see the Alhambra. We said goodbye and then I went on my way to go walk around some more. I ended up going to the very opposite side of the city until I found a highway. I turned around once I realized I was going the wrong way. I ended up walking for almost 2 hours, so I was ready to sit down and eat some food. I ended up

Charles' Palace in the Alhambra.
coming out to a big plaza that was exactly where I ate lunch yesterday. I found a place that looked really interesting and walked in. I was going to get a cheeseburger, but I really wanted to eat a Kabob again. So I ordered the Kabob and it was amazing. In that moment, I decided I really want to go to India. All of the "Arab", "Moorish", and "Muslim" things seem actually Indian to me. So a trip to India is coming soon. When I was done eating my last Kabob, I went looking for the bus that would take me to the Alhambra. I road to the top of the mountain and looked for the area to pick up my tickets. I stood in line for a while in the sweltering heat until it was my turn. There was a security guard controlling the line, and he kept letting people who hadn't bought their tickets yet go ahead of me. I was finally able to receive my tickets from the lady. When visiting the Alhambra in the future, I would print off your tickets ahead of time, when you have a printer. I took my tickets and walked in.

My painting picture of the view of the city.
I had to visit the Nazarene Palaces at 5:30, so I had about two hours to spend to my liking. So I went and viewed the Alcazar, ending up finding my older lady roommate from Cordoba. What are the odds of running into someone that I met in a different city. I am currently asking God why I haven't run into my pilot friend yet. I enjoyed the views of the city from the towers in the Alcazar. I took many pictures, and got to use this setting on my camera that makes it look like a painting. Now I have a ton of photos that look like paintings straight out of a fairy tale. I have the best camera. It is a Sony Cybershot DSC-TX20. It takes 3D photos, panoramas, and is water-proof. Anyways, when I was done with taking magical picture-paintings, I found a nice shady bench to sit on and relax until it was my time to see the palaces. They only let a specific amount of people in to see the palaces at one time, so they give you a specific time. It is very important that you see the palaces at your allotted time, because

The lace-like designs and structures of the Nazarene Palace.
they will not let you see it at any other time. So when it was my time, I stood in line in the extreme heat, hoping it would be worth it. I was already worn out from all the walking I had done earlier, and the heat was making me very tired. Finally I was able to make my way in to the palaces. Every room had some type of refreshing water fountain in the center of the room with intricate lace-like designs on the walls and ceilings. It was absolutely stunning; the pictures do it no justice. Unfortunately, that it was it. There was no evidence to show that those rooms were actually used for living. I was a little disappointed, but ready to make my way to the Generalife palace. I walked through beautiful gardens covered in water fountains to get there. Once I was there, I walked through the palace, which was again, not really a typical "palace". This time, they wouldn’t let you walk through the actual inside parts, so I am curious to know what it looks like on the inside. I was excited to see the waterfall staircase, but it ended up being water

The lion water fountain in the Nazarene Palace.
making its way down a pipe next to some stairs. Although some of the things weren't as exciting, the Alhambra was definitely a sight to see. My absolutely favorite sight in the universe? No, but it was definitely worth the 14 euros. I made my way through the exit and stopped at the gift shop. What I ended up learning was that in the early 1800's, Washington Irving lived in the Alhambra. At the time, no one really cared about the Alhambra, so the American writer was able to roam the area at his pleasure. He ended up writing stories about the Alhambra in a book that is called " The tales of the Alhambra." As a writer, that would be a dream of mine: to live in a castle, exploring the secret halls and tunnels, writing magical stories. Unfortunately, now a days, most places like that are under protection to "preserve" the monuments. I left the gift shop, got on the bus, and made my way to my hostal. I ate some dinner I made the night before and went up to my room to pack. When I was finished, a new roommate came into the room. I said

Inside the Nazarene Palace.
hello, but did not receive anything back from her. I got out my laptop and went to relax on my bed when I noticed her coming over to me. She suddenly started plugging her phone into my laptop, saying her phone was dead and did I mind. I was completely shocked and just said sure. I decided to believe that that is just how Asian people are polite. But who cares because tonight is my last night. Tomorrow I will make my way to Chipiona where I will spend the next 3 weeks relaxing with family most likely on the beach. It seems like those 2 weeks I studied abroad happened so long ago. I wasn't ready to travel on my own for 3 weeks, but look at me now! No longer afraid to eat by myself. No longer afraid to be by myself. Actually completely content eating by myself and traveling by myself. God has definitely done some miracles in my life in these short but somehow long three weeks. Now as I say goodbye to this part of my trip, I remind myself that I still have 3 parts of my trip left. Three weeks in Chipiona, one

Some of the gardens.
week on a mission trip in Sevilla, and two weeks back in Chipiona. My mom will be joining me for the last three weeks, which I am thrilled about. I know it will make it go by fast, but for now I will just enjoy today. What better way to end a long, fabulous day, than a nice, long sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



The waterfall stairway.


The Alcazar.


Another painting picture of the view of the city and the snow-covered mountain tops.


close up of the Nazarene.


Wall inside the Nazarene.


Nazarene ceiling.


15th June 2013

beautiful........
Yes, even more grand than the last pictures. These places that have been hidden from my person all these years suddenly flash before my eyes and thrill my very heart and soul. i've never been so happy that someone else is being blessed!!! Enjoy these visions of grandeur. I'm sure there will be other glorious views to see but how can these be beat??? Oh well, that's a God Thing and he has made so much. Oh Pretty Girl, you are truly blessed......

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb