Hola from Granada & Cordoba


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
May 25th 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, after a long overnight bus trip from Porto to Madrid (and a half day in Madrid best left unmentioned apart from a visit to the Prado Museum) and then a bus to Granada, I finally made it to the south of Spain.

Let me just say that my experience with ´turismos´ (tourist offices) over the last week has left a lot to be desired.

I really enjoyed Granada. I visited Jeronimos monastery, the cathedral and royal musuem, and, of course, the Alhambra. Apart from that, I walked the streets, enjoyed some great food, and caught up on some email etc.

Once again, the photos from the Alhambra cannot do it justice, especially the interior shots. Hand held at such slow speeds, I cannot do well.

After 3 nights in Grenada, I headed to Cordoba where I found accommodation near where Pam and Graeme Sheers had recommended. Strange, but they never mentioned all the brothels at one end of the street! I must say, I have never seen such a concentrated group of old hookers. I don´t think I saw one under 45!

Whilst Grenada has the Alhambra, Cordoba has the Mezquita. Awesome also.

The
AlhambraAlhambraAlhambra

Taken from ´the viewpoint´in Grenada
other great thing I experienced in Cordoba was the annual fair. I took heaps of pictures of the crowd. There was a section for ´bring your own´bottles - which were then mixed into some interesting cocktails (including sangria etc) and hundreds of ´beer tents´. Mixed in with all this were some beautiful Spanish horses and women dressed immacuately in traditional costume. Did not see any of these at 7 am this morning when many of the crowd were returning from the fair as I was off to catch my bus to Algeciras!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

Taken from ´the viewpoint´in Grenada
Inside the Alhambra Inside the Alhambra
Inside the Alhambra

Some of the amazing craftsmanship
Inside the Alhambra IIInside the Alhambra II
Inside the Alhambra II

More from inside the palace
The Cordoba FairThe Cordoba Fair
The Cordoba Fair

Horses.....
The Cordoba Fair IIThe Cordoba Fair II
The Cordoba Fair II

Beer tent, Spanish style
The Cordoba Fair IVThe Cordoba Fair IV
The Cordoba Fair IV

Well, I have been asked by several of you for a ´fashion´ editorial so I hope this one counts
The Cordoba Fair IIIThe Cordoba Fair III
The Cordoba Fair III

The fairgrounds
The Mezquita Cathedral IThe Mezquita Cathedral I
The Mezquita Cathedral I

Great architecture!
The Mezquita Cathedral IIThe Mezquita Cathedral II
The Mezquita Cathedral II

And then some more.....


26th May 2006

Ooops, sorry...
Ooops, sorry about the dodgy accommodation recommendation but we don't recall coming across any brothels when we were there - perhaps we were back at the Hostal before the "ladies of the night" came out to trade. I guess it proves that we always immerse ourselves in the local culture and hang out where the locals do whenever we travel! Might be a good idea if you ignore any other accommodation recommendations we've given you??? Cheers from the Sheers.
27th May 2006

Politically incorrect
Hey Merryn, Glad you having fun. The correct term is "Sex Workers" ..trust me!

Tot: 0.47s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 30; qc: 119; dbt: 0.3569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb