Alcazar, and the Jewish Quarter


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Córdoba
September 22nd 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alcazar & Jewish Quarter walkabout


Today I walked to Alcazar, which was originally built by the Visgoths, and rebuilt several times over history. It stands on the beach of what once was a major trading river. The river is merely a trickle now, and the ancient castle is crumbling, but the gardens are gorgeous. The jasmine, roses, hibiscus, and blue morning glory were in bloom, and the date palms, orange, lemon and grapefruit were nearly ripe. The fountains were burbling, and the birds were singing, I felt quite lucky to be alive.

I then climbed to the top of the castle, and took some pictures of the garden from above with the Mezquita in the background. The castle itself is pretty barren; lots of low dank passageways. The patios were pretty, and had some lovely old tiles and stunning marble pools. I think I would have spent much of my time in the gardens had I lived there.

I then wandered off to explore the Jewish Quarter, The passageways are very narrow and I had to jump into doorways to get out of the way of cars and motorcycles several times. Lots of pretty flowers, and amazing iron grills. I found my way to the river, and walked along it to the main street.

Next stop, Granada and the Alhambra.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 92; dbt: 0.0781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb