Algeciras and Gibraltar


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Algeciras
May 27th 2006
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After a bus ride from Cordoba, I arrived in Algeciras to find what I had expected but not what I had hoped for. It is a port town with nothing much else to see or do.

As a result, my 2 day stay consisted of a day trip to Gibraltar and some walking, emailing and telephoning in Algeciras.

Gibraltar was strange. An eclectic mix of UK and Spain. The rock was large, the gondala expensive, the barbary apes way too tame seeing as I had to dislodge one off my backpack! but I did enjoy walking the length of the place and seeing the lighthouse and mosque at the eastern end.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Gilbraltar ApesGilbraltar Apes
Gilbraltar Apes

A nectarine snatched from an unsuspecting danish couple was quickly devoured
The Rock of GibraltarThe Rock of Gibraltar
The Rock of Gibraltar

A gloomy day but still a reasonable view.....
GibraltarGibraltar
Gibraltar

The next day was gloomy too as I sailed past....


9th June 2006

Gibraltar
I got lucky when I was there and met 2 NZ guys who were trying to buy a cannon for their home town (via Hull in UK) and got a guided tour of the battery from the Minster of the Interior (or other such title) including crawling around through tunnels - didn't have to pay anything, got chauffer driven etc. Went diving too, but Morrocco is MUCH more exciting and I figure you are off there next!!!
9th June 2006

Bloody thieving tourist-animals
A racoon tried to steal a tourist's handbag while I was in a park too. Kinda ruins it a bit to know that they are that un-wild!
9th June 2006

hello wandering traveller
Merryn Have been loving the vibrant photos (yes the new camera is doing the trick) and little anecdotes. I am glad that the trip has been as amazing as you were hoping. As my new job has been busy, I've barely made it to any Chinese classes since you left and so we probably will still know about the same amount of hanyu. The others are proudly keeping the flag flying though. Have lots more fun Mae
9th June 2006

Hey!
Great to hear from you. Thought you were lost! I still liked the Gibraltar apes - tame or not. Thanks for the update! Jon and Mary

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb