Triglav National Park & Bled, Slovenia


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia
July 18th 2010
Published: December 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This past summer (2010) I took a long weekend to travel down from Prague to Slovenia. I still continue to conjure up beautiful images of Triglav National Park to this day. I would highly recommend a visit if you are able. I would like to go back and see more of the country one day, but do feel that I saw that best that Slovenia had to offer while I was there. A couple nights I spent in Bled and then another in the capital, Ljubljana.

I would recommend a drive through Triglav Park allowing for time to hike. A highlight for me was a long hike down the Soca River where the water was an unbelievable turquoise color. If I had more time I would set off to hike Mount Triglav which is the mountain represented on the Slovenian flag and something of a rite of passage for Slovenians. I would also recommend a great hike that starts from the Savica Falls and goes up into the mountains. The hike on the switchbacks going up the mountain isn't so spectacular but the trails and views that you will have at the top are spectacular. If you get up to the hut don't stop there but take some of the trails going off behind it for incredible views. If you have more time to explore the area you might consider multi-day hikes staying in the huts. The Savica Falls are located at the end of the road going west past Lake Bohinj. As a side note, the little gift shop in the cabin at the parking lot for the waterfall has some nice, colorful glassware that is reasonably priced and made in Skofia Loka. Lake Bohinj itself is worth a stop also. I enjoyed the western edge of the lake and also did some walking along the northern side

Bled is picturesque because of its setting on the lake, the beautiful church on the island, and the castle that looks over the town. The area around the lake is busy and a bit touristy but you really should get out and walk around the lake. It makes for a good loop if you are a runner too. I didn't take a ride on the traditional boats to go out to the church but I did hike up to the castle where you can get great views and nice pics of the area.

I found Ljubljana to be quite nice to explore once I was able to drop off my car. Driving around the downtown area wasn't too fun. You will enjoy walking around the river and bridges in the main pedestrian area. I walked up to the castle in order to get views of the city from above and felt that it was worth the time and effort.

In general I really enjoyed the Slovenians who I had a chance to interact with and found the country to be quite welcoming to tourists. Driving was also pretty straightforward and efficient (except in downtown Ljubljana) so don't hesitate to rent a car to explore. Take a chance on Slovenia for a visit while it is still one of Europe's hidden gems. If you are looking for beautiful landscapes the mountains of Triglav National Park are hard to beat!


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb