A little bit softer now...


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
September 23rd 2006
Published: September 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Trail headTrail headTrail head

This trail apparently goes all the way around the city. I'm stoked to walk parts of it, heck maybe the whole thing one day by bike!
So, after another tiny bout of homesickness that was quickly cured by all my good friends at Royal LePage (The best really do live there!), last night and today have been great. Nothing special really, but just feeling much more at home and settling in with some people that I hope will be good friends.

Yesterday, I was walking towards downtown when I was asked "Do you speak English? We are looking for...." in an accent I immediately identified as French Canadian (or as these separatists might prefer, Quebecois! haha). After a quick chat, I had met Caroline and Yan from Quebec, and Caroline will be studying here in Ljubljana for the year. The world really is so small, and God is so great to have crossed our paths right then! As they were obviously brand new to the city, I ended up showing them around a little bit once they had checked out an appartment, and then later that night we went for a drink and dinner with a couple other exchange students.

Today, I went for my first long-board since I got here. I was a little bit shy at first, but once I got out and
MeMeMe

Sleeping in the field at Tivoli Park
the air in my face (and remembered Barbelicious trying the board in the halls at work!), it felt really good! I even found the trailhead that is really near to my house for the walking trail that goes all the way around the city... I'm definitly excited to walk parts of that! Next I wandered into the city and walked around some of the backstreets... Found a few great CD stores, and just got to see some of the places that are more "local" than tourist which is always really nice. Next I hit up Tivoli park (see Beautiful Day entries), and sat in a beautiful meadow of flowers for about 2 hours, half sleeping and half studying Slovene. The weather here has been superb, so I even got a bit of a tan!

I met up with Yan and Caroline again around 4:30, as well as with Nadia and (I think it was Braga?) from are both from Portugal, and we ended up coming back to my little appartment for a great team effort dinner of pasta with semi-home-made sauce and probably the most terrible wine I've ever tasted. (PS - don't by 2 Euro wine unless you're
Pivo and SunglassesPivo and SunglassesPivo and Sunglasses

(Pivo=Beer in Slovene)
in France!!) After we hung out on my balcony and then played Asshole for about 2 hours. It was great that all of us knew how to play... who would have thought that Asshole would be such an international game! All in all a great night of getting to know each other through friendly competition!

Love you all,

Mel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



24th September 2006

Black and white!
I just discovered last week (dah) that digital camera can do that! And here it is again. The photos are great!
25th September 2006

music to your ears?
That sounds like the perfect place! Music everwhere you go? I always thought the perfect world would be musical all the time. Sounds like it would be hard to wake up grumpy.

Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb