There's Always Music in Ljubljana


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
September 22nd 2006
Published: September 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sweet Little Dixieland BandSweet Little Dixieland BandSweet Little Dixieland Band

I think that's the right type anyway... kind of like a cross between Oopa-Oopa band and Dixieland!



One thing I definitly appreciate so much about Ljubljana is that I have yet to leave the house without hearing some sort of beautiful or strange music, either drifting from the speakers of one of the thousand coffee shops here (NONE of which are Starbucks! Strike one for monopolies! muah ha ha ha...), from a flute or violin or any other random instrument whose case is lying open on the ground with hundreds of Tolars thrown in, or from some sort of small band playing to ever increasing crouds in the street. I hear accordions from my balcony, and yesterday I walked out of my gate to hear a construction worker belting out a beautiful opera song...



It really is just a city that is somehow filled with music, and generally GOOD music too. Every day I see musicians all over the city, either playing or carrying their cases in between gigs or classes. I even saw a chello player miraculously balancing his massive hard case on the back of his bicycle. Its something I've never seen before... not even in New York City did I notice so many musicians.



Last night
Two guys who played a TON of Beatles coversTwo guys who played a TON of Beatles coversTwo guys who played a TON of Beatles covers

Marie I'm sorry you missed it! They were really good.
I went down to watch Simona's dance team/class performing. They performed in the middle of one of the many bridges over the river, which was sweet and they were really good, great singing, rapping and break-dancing too! After the first performance, this huge group of people dressed in traditional Slovene costume walked by, and of course I followed, and then watched them sing tradional songs and dance 2 traditional Slovene dances. It was pretty sweet! I want to learn!



Anyway, that's my little piece of Ljubljana for the day. There are some pretty funny trends here that I want to write about too, but I need to do some stealth photography first!

Love you all,

Mel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Simona's Hip Hop GroupSimona's Hip Hop Group
Simona's Hip Hop Group

Awesome dance show! They were so good, and good singing too!
Traditional DancingTraditional Dancing
Traditional Dancing

On the other end of the spectrum, just down the street from the Hip Hop dancing was a rad traditional Slovene dance performance


Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0958s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb