Italy Next


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
September 11th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Name That CowName That CowName That Cow

Send a message if you think you can name this breed of cattle
Since my last entry, I have been to lake Balaton, in Hungary, and Ptuj, Nazerje and Ljubljana in Slovenia. The sun has been kind and I have seen some interesting sights and done loads of biking (some great downhills on the ski slopes of mt Golte, in Slovenia). I have even been paragliding, which I enjoyed, but did not find as exciting as I expected.

Balaton lake is huge. From where I camped, you could see water on the horizon in one direction. Whilst there I did a fair bit of biking, even some off-road. Saw some interesting cattle there, Nat, I challenge you to name the cow in the picture (not Daisy etc, but the breed). Stopped in the second main town of Keszthely at Balaton, which was ok.

Moved on to Slovenia after a couple of weeks, first passing through Ptuj, then on to Recica ob Saviaja, up in the north of the country (some stunning countryside). Had a week there, where I went to the top of Mt Golte (1578m) and cycled around on the top and up and down the ski slopes. It was wicked, but very tiring and scary at times.

Planned to
Me, a mountain bike and a mountainMe, a mountain bike and a mountainMe, a mountain bike and a mountain

Me, with my bike up mount Golte
go white water kayaking with campsite owner, however, water was to low (lucky escape for me). However, he did arrange for me to go paragliding from 3/4 of the way up Golte and we climbed well above the summit. An experience that was well worth it (see picture).

Moved on to the capital, Ljublijana after that, where the camp site was joined to a swimming pool complex (free use). I found that the city was quite small compared to some I have recently been to,but quite charming. The people are extremely friendly (throughout the country) and have enjoyed an evening of free wine, cheese and live folk music in a bookshop annex (really good). I plan to go to Skocjan caves and lake Bled next (get some hiking, biking and kayaking in, before i go on to Itally.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

View from a paragliderView from a paraglider
View from a paraglider

My Legs dangling from a paraglider around mount Golte


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb