Bratislava


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia
September 13th 2011
Published: September 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Two days in Bratislava, the capital. There was no Hydrofoil from Budapest so did train. There is one to Vienna so I'll give a review of that in my Vienna report.

This area was totally bombed out after the war, so this was a really depressing place for a long time. There is major money pumping in here now and the Old Town looks nice. I really like all these cities at night more than day and they really did nice mood lighting on the old streets. Actually, Slovakia I read sold a lot of its blown-up stone work to Germany when it rebuilt, but they appear to have found some new stuff.

I have never seen so many cafes in one place in my life. The thing here is to take a walking tour (very easy to do yourself) and just hang and watch the beautiful people. Food prices are very reasonable here (beer about 2$, lunch $5-7).

When I get Tim's photo's you'll see there some really good photograph opps here since the old and new provides great contrast. I would say this is a great rest stop on the vaca and I didn't need to do a whole lot to feel it was worth a visit.

I will admit, I had a macabre interest in this place from seeing the movie Hostel which portrayed this place as really backward. I can't speak to how it was before, but that was pure Hollywood and it is completely safe and worth a day or two visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb