SLOVAKIA


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia
May 31st 2010
Published: June 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SLOVAKIASLOVAKIASLOVAKIA

the gorgeous countryside of Zdiar...
Location: Bratislava, Banska Bystrica, Poprad, Zdiar, Trencin
Length of Stay: 5 Days
Cost per Day: $51

To be honest, I didnt have any intention of visiting Slovakia or any other Eastern European countries on this trip, however everyone has been telling me how wonderful they are, so I thought I would at least look at one...

Like me, you may not know much of this country... My knowledge was zero... in fact I dont know that I have ever even met a Slovakian...
so heres a little about its history...

100 000BC - the first settlers inhabit the area of present day Slovakia
1918 - Czechoslovakia is formed and made up of Czech Republic and Slovakia
1948 - The Soviet Union and Communism take over
1989 - The Velvet Revolution takes place - and the fall of the Iron Curtain
1993 - Slovakia becomes an independant nation
2004 - Slovakia joins the EU - European Union
2009 - Slovakia adopts the Euro as its single currency

Has been a really positive and pleasant experience here in Slovakia and certainly has proven to be a country much lighter on the bank account...
As an example... a 2.5 hr train trip in Austria cost me $68, whilst a 2.5 hr train trip in Slovakia cost me $10...
What a massive difference...
And groceries are incredibly cheap here... I actually think too cheap... They could easily up their prices a little without causing too much commotion amongst the people...

The people are fantastic... most dont speak English, however are happy to still attempt to communicate with you... and those that do speak English love to engage you in conversation so they can practice...
Loads of backpacking going on around here... of the local variety... nice to see people exploring their own country...

I have really enjoyed my few days here in Slovakia, so much so that that I am inspired to now go do a few more Eastern European countries while I am in the vicinity...

So off to Czech Republic next... I hear Prague is very beautiful and not to be missed... x


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SLOVAKIASLOVAKIA
SLOVAKIA

Bratislava... the capital... had all these wonderful, quirky bronze statues dotted around the town square...


12th June 2010

Czechoslovakia: Good footballing nation!...and thats the extent of my knowledge of the Country....x

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb