Day 7 - Slovensky Raj


Advertisement
Published: April 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The drive from Bratislava to Slovensky Raj took around 3 hours. Slovensky Raj means the paradise of Slovakia, in my opinion, a very apt name. We stayed in a small village called Vernar. It is only popular during ski season, so when we arrived, we were the only occupants of the hostel. From there we drove to Sucha Bela to hike. It took us approximately 4 hours to get back to our car. As there were very few hikers, it was very peaceful and serene. We were lucky enough to see a Kamzi (mountain goat) cross our paths. I only managed to get a blur photo of it as it happened too fast. As if the kamzi heard my thoughts, it sneaked back to where we were and stood still, staring at us curiously and giving me ample time to get a nice picture of it. It was a really nice hike, though I wished I brought proper hiking shoes as my feet were soaked from accidentally stepping into the water.



Back at the hostel, we had gooey pasta (courtesy of moi) and watched Slovak dubbed Harry Potter before settling down for the night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb