Khabarovsk


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Far East » Khabarovsk
July 4th 2010
Published: July 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The train number on the train didn't match the one on my ticket, and who knows what platform it was on, but it seemed to be going to Khabarovsk (my cyrillic is coming in handy), so I took my chances. The provodinitsa (carriage attendant) didn't kick me off so I took that as a good sign.

I was very lucky because the carriage was nearly empty, so I ended up getting the whole compartment to myself instead of having to share with 3 others. And I was really looking forward to those all-night vodka parties I had heard of - not! And because Vladivostok is the start of the line, the toilet was respectable and stayed that way. It is so cramped in there though that you had hardly fit your head above the basin to do your teeth - or do i just have a really big head? No chance of washing properly.

The seat folds down to become a bed which is the most uncomfortable bed you can dream up. Its like sleeping on a piece of wood, and I thought I could sleep on anything.

The train arrived in Khabarovsk exactly on time, meaning to the exact minute. I got a tram half-way to the centre and found my hotel with no problem. Khabarovsk is really nice and clean with some wide boulevards and lots of greenery. It also has a really nice stolling path around the Amur river, with manicured gardens, monuments, museums etc. You can imagine that its really nice in summer with ice-cream stands, sun-beds set up on the beach etc - I had to imagine because the weather was a bit cold and windy so not that many people around. There is not a great deal to do here though (especially when weather is not that good), so one day is more than enough.

Oh yeah I found my friend Mr Lenin, looking down on the enormous square with fountains and flowers. I already have more snaps of him than towns I have been to.

I have no interesting anecdote about this place, as all has been a bit boring. Except I will say that the internet lady is really unfriendly; its not my fault I can't understand her. She was pissed she has to show me how to change the cyrillic into roman letters on the keyboard, then my session suddenly hibernated because it wanted more money. So all this is my fault for annoying her, and of corse sorting it takes up a lot of my internet time.

Not looking forward to two day train trip tomorrow, unless they give me my own comartment then i will be happy 😊

Advertisement



21st July 2010

Do you want to visit Khabarovsk again?

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb