Tver


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Tver
January 18th 2012
Published: January 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes I get so bored with life I simply cannot stand it, but still I have to get up, cook food, translate various texts, look through the window, think, breathe, put the rubber ring on my tooth, read books, think about home, would-be home, past, present, future, etc, drink tea, write to my friends and what not. It’s too damned boring when the person you think most of the time often does not pay attention to your calls and has so much work we can’t even meet for 11 days, living in the same city (I wish she was not ill, to crown it all).








As soon as I had my day of rest, I understood that not to get completely bored I had to go somewhere and do something. Money matters do not allow now going to far places, but we have so many towns and cities in Russia. I decided to visit Petrozavodsk, it would take only one day.








So I bought the ticket to Petrozavodsk and back, but no sooner the evening came than I realized I did not want to go anywhere, there in particular. Surely, I’d go with pleasure to a paradise, for instance, but not to Petrozavodsk, because, first, the train arrived so early, at 6.50 in the morning, and second ... It meant that I would have to wait several hours until it gets bright. Hating the idea, I got off the bed and bought other tickets, to Tver, having previously ascertained that it had sights enough for half a day. The next morning I went to the train station and returned my Petrozavodsk tickets.








I was reading the book by John Cleland called Memoirs of a Woman of Pleasure (Fanny Hill) and I must say I do not suppose one can write better about sex. There are so many interesting words and expressions, metaphors and so on. I liked it immensely. The end of the book is a happy one. Long live the fornicating engine and the pussy!








I should say I did not like the idea of going anywhere in the evening already. I wished I did not buy any tickets. But I decided to visit Tver and see whether any pleasant memories were to be had.








The train left at 1.40 in the night so I went to the cinema for a late film and watched it with rather a great pleasure and after that only an hour was left before train departure. The cinema is located on the Nevsky prospect, when I went outside it was beautiful snowfall and all the lights and nice buildings made it look like a happy fairy tale.








It has nothing to do with fairytales when one misses his nearest and dearest. I missed her very much, till my heart and soul ached. However, nothing doing. As I stood on the platform I thought I’d rather go to her and embrace and caress her and fly away to some Dubai or Prague or Rio-de-Janeiro or Las Vegas. Or, Helsinki, at least, which is so close.








I also questioned whether a night trip to Tver, spending 6-7 hours there and coming back is to be considered a real trip. But one does not have to spend a week in a city to enjoy it. I arrived to Tver at 8.14 in the morning, and sat inside the station till 9.








If you ever go to Tver, do not forget the train ticket – you’ll have to show it to the official in order to get outside, into the city. I was lucky enough to have simply left my ticket in the train because I would never guess they had such formalities. I showed them my return ticket and was allowed to pass.








I bought a very large map of Tver and the whole Tver region. I doubt whether the investment was really needed, I mean the Whole Region, but I guess my mind in the morning was not working at its best and I did not ask for smaller maps. Some men approached me asking for a couple of roubles. I would not give anything because they better work.








As soon as I started walking on the Chaikovskogo Prospect, I felt enthusiastic and willing. It was getting brighter and brighter with every minute. You can see the names of some main sights in the photos. The most interesting were churches, the Trehsvyatskaya Street, and Volga River. Tver is much like other small Russian cities. It is situated between Moscow and St. Petersburg, so you can easily visit it if you want.








I had a good bite in a fast-food restaurant in the Trehsvyatskaya Street after which my natural destination was the Zvezda cinema. You know, I usually go to a cinema if there is enough time before departure. The cinema was excellent, very stylishly decorated and rather large. Its halls were named after famous movie stars and film directors. I watched the film about Sherlock Holmes, enjoying every minute of it. Stephen Fry also appeared there, he’s much fatter now than in the films about Jeeves and Wooster.








One also needs a ticket to enter the train station. In the train, I finished reading Fanny Hill and started another book of English stories.








Perhaps next time I do go to Petrozavodsk, or Torzhok, or Smolensk, or Pskov. Any big trips are planned for later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb