Excellent Dinner


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
October 10th 2006
Published: October 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

No pictures, but I wanted to thank everyone for their help. Mark, the Shepard's Pie turned out great, almost as good as yours. This was not even a Russian version, but close to the real thing with a little Vince Kramer alternation. The only funny part, I almost did not have enough mashed potatos. I bought an extra box, I thought that ended up being "corn in a bag" (similary to 'rice in a bag', but this was almost corn meal like size/texture that you boil in a bag.) Definitely NOT instant mashed potatos. I used what I had and it turned out just fine, very good in fact.

The pie, still not happy with my crust, but it was not bad. A little tough, not as flacky as I would have liked, but great flavor, of course using butter instead of Crisco, and no pastry blender, but all in all, not bad. I used Jetta's cream pie recipe and it was good. (Not as good as Mom's, but I can not give away all the US secrets...lol) Next time, I think I will go back to something "less fat" than the dessert cream I bought which was 35%!f(MISSING)at. I think something like 15%!w(MISSING)ould fine....I just want it to 'flow' as oppose to being almost 'pasty' coming out of the carton, if you know what I mean.

My guest had no complaints. We had one serving of Shepard Pie and Dasha asked if she could take a piece of pie home for her parents, which finished off the pie, if that tells you anything. Then again, I know I was into more than once...lol Nothing but cream and sugar so you know how healthy that was for me and I even skipped volleyball on Monday. I had better make it to the gym on Thursday before I clog my arteries...lol

Dasha did think it was strange to have jello salad as part of the meal. She said in Russia, sweets are for desserts. She liked it, but did not think it should have been part of the meal. Of course she did not say it that direct, but that was her thoughts. The only thing she turned her nose up to was the Jack Daniels. She always hear me say, "I need a Jack" so she just had to try. She will admit, she did not care for it and asked if she could mix it with a Coke. I still do not think she liked it, but she finished it with the Coke. There is no doubt, it takes a little getting use to and not to worry about not liking it, that leaves more for me and makes her a cheaper date for Michael...lol

So again, thanks to all of your recipes and thoughts; dinner went well!

Advertisement



11th October 2006

good dinner
One day you will have to share the Shepards Pie with the rest of us. sounds good but have to have some measurements and not in Russian, at least for your mother. Glad the dinner went well even if you did have thick potatos. Ha
11th October 2006

A little of this and a little of that
Kind of like most of your recipes, just add a little of this and a little of that...lol I will see if Mark will allow me to disclose his famous Shepard's Pie recipe. Mark???
23rd October 2006

JACK
I too am a Jack and Coke fan. Must be a southern thing. However, while in Poland (twice) I was introduced to true Vodka. I am now a fan and have several not so well known bottles. Give it a try!
23rd October 2006

Just Jack Here
I am just a Jack fan and the cost just went up. I know when I first moved to town, I think I drove up the cost, but I have not bought any for a month and I noticed in the store, the price when up 200 rubles (almost $10). I know there is a tax problem here with imported alcohols expect Johnny Walker Red and Black. For some reason, they have never been taken off the shelf. I can do vodka now, but I still sip it and they all make fun of me. I am not a shot type person, but slowly learning.

Tot: 0.395s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb