Bucau - Brasov


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Brasov » Brasov
June 17th 2010
Published: June 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I returned to the 'mici restaurant' to savor a final helping of their version. There was a little combo in there playing Romanian tunes, lounge-lizard style. I got the back of my pants wet in the toilet from unknown substances on the floor, forcing a hasty retreat to my nearby pensiune for a quick hand wash. It rained all night again forcing me to pack damp clothes. It was 8:00 when I was ready to go to the bus station and I had to wake up Reception to take my payment for the last day. LOL

I had a short walk from the city bus to the gara but I had a printout of the bus schedule so I was a happy man. I had contacted a chat friend and arranged a short visit to Brasov. It seems that the bus schedules continue to be incomplete/inaccurate. I arrived early for a 10:45 bus and found a 9:40 one I didn't know about. I had to call my friend Ramona and alter our meeting time, which fortunately worked out for her. She saw me to the hostel, only a couple blocks from the central piata. I was only to be in town for a couple days and we were as busy getting acquainted as sight-seeing R was from Buzau ansd only here for the last six months so she wasn't so familiar with Brasov as might be expected.

With the exception of a nice afternoon spent in Poiana Brasov we stuck pretty close to the center walking up a hill to a water source, climbing a tower and strolling about the area talking. It was a personal time that was one of the high points of my Romanian visit. We almost watched a live satellite broadcast of Carmen from Spain in the main piata, but the weather turned cold and chased many away, including us. The technology of the screen was quite amazing, as I had seen it earlier in the day before it had bee raised for viewing, but with both of us dressed in only shorts and short-sleeved shirts we retired to a warmer spot for some sedate TV viewing.

R said she wanted to see me off the next morning and I (accidentally) wound up in her neighborhood and picked her up and after confirming the train schedules we both decided that the train made better sense for me. We passed the waiting time in a very nice park behind the train station and then I reluctantly bade her farewell, with promises to stay in touch.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb