Bacau


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Moldova » Bacau » Bacau
June 11th 2010
Published: June 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had not planned on going to Bacau because the friend I had intended to meet would not be there. However, with the time on my hands it would be interesting to re-visit old haunts. It was cool that I was able tell the bus driver exactly where I wanted to go so as to find the net cafe I knew so well. I needed the cafe to google-up a pensiune so I had an economical place to stay. The net acfe I knew so well for so many years had closed and, again, finding one was difficult. With guidance from someone I was reminded of one I knew from previous visits. Of the 4 full hotels I knew in town the cheapest was $65 per night and "wasn't all that." It the intervening years I had expected that a few decent tourist hotels would have been started. Google showed three places that held hope. Of course, I chose the cheapest one to look at first. With my attitude it would have to have been pretty bad to pass on. Knowing it was only a couple kilometers I confidently took a cab from the Central Market. The fare should have been about 3.5 and yet the driver demanded 10. It was my first screw-job from a cab driver in the almost two months I've been here.

The room was fine, as far as it went and cost about $30 per night. It was virtually on the bus line and not bad at all. I hand-washed some clothes and hung them out to dry. I saved the jeans to be washed later. Finding the nightlife was challenging, because though I had a list of nightspots near my pensiune not of the buildin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb