on the train - Timisoara to Craiova


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Banat
April 26th 2010
Published: April 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It turns out my mobile's clock was set 20 minutes off so I had to be wakened rather then get up on my own. Peter's wife graciously offered to wash my clothes and when I noted there wasn't time for them to dry she said: "I have a drier!" She provided a graceful transition from the US to Romania. When she bade farewell she offered her hand, but I said "this is Romania!" and demanded a hug. She even packed a lunch for the train ride.

The car was a most modern version of a second class car and was quite comfortable, though the toilet refused to flush. Eight hours from Chicago to Munich and eight hours from Timisoara to Craiova.

In the course of the trip I slipped my mobile into my shirt, rather than my pocket. I nodded in and out and at one point reached for my mobile to check the time and it was gone. My video camera and digital camera were intact and I couldn't figure out why a pickpocket would take only 1 of 3 devices.

I asked a lady on the train to call my number and I would listen for the distinctive ring and nab the crook. The ring came from under my shirt. Both of us burst out laughing and I chalked it up to another experience.

Advertisement



28th April 2010

ha ha ha :))
nice day... take care of your things better, pal :)
2nd May 2010

John... you know what words I want to share with you? its stronger then Duh!!! lol...

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb