Travelin Z - Port wine tasting(37).


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal
January 19th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post


When Barbara left back to the cold Czech republic, I went back north, to Porto for a couple of days, by myself.



PORTO - PORT WINE TASTING

After a long fast walk up and down the narrow hilly streets of Porto I presented myself in a famous port winery with the statue and aura of an ambassador to the region.
I had a very long walk, in the brisk cold air, and was in a frisky mood for a drink.

The woman behind the counter, late 20's I supposes, was corporately polite and promptly barraged me with an endless amount of information about the winery, their rich heritage and their magnificent product. I was the only visitor, that early afternoon, and it looked like we both welcomed the change.

-"...superior quality, with toasted aromas...possess extraordinary longevity....."
She was so well trained, that I was almost fooled to believe she was an offspring of this winery lineage, who passionately prefers introduction of new customers to wine to the boredom of topless bathing aboard the family 75 foot yacht in San Trope.
-"...acquire a nutty character..."
I looked at her, and smiled. I hoped to come across as someone who knows what the hell she is talking about. I tried to play my role somewhere between Forrest Gump and Chancy Gardener. She was either smart enough, well trained or didn't particularly care to call my bluff.
I chose a Tawny (looks cheaper). She encouraged me to take a seat in the tasting room. A space decorated a few weeks earlier pretending to have a long history of wine tasting rituals. Yes, this decorating job will clearly fool a bus load of American or Korean tourists doing an intellectual 14 days/17.4 cities tour of old Europe.

I sat down. She appeared with a tray, two glasses - one empty the other 1/4 full, and a bottle. Nice dark glass bottle with classic white letters.
-"...interrupts the fermentation..."
Into the second glass she poured me a full portion of Tawny and pointed to the 1/4 full glass explaining that the company recommends its Ruby. later I found out that Ruby is the cheapest. Thanks for not telling me earlier. What the hell - can I please taste it now?
-"...bottle bouquet.....some tannin.....youthful ruby-red color....an amber hue.... "
Cool, woman, I want a sip now.

I looked at the two glasses, at the table and then at her. She looked very sexy in her gray business suit. I hope she doesn't think this skirt makes her thighs look bigger. They are fine.
I looked up and watch her lips as she revealed to me:
-"......deep rich fruity undertones ....."
What about her undergarments. Does she wear a garter belt or pantie hose.

-"...they are smooth and harmonious and their bouquet lingers greatly in the mouth.... "
Lets see what this wine taste like when i lick the drips from the corner of her presumptuous lips.
She stood next to me, looking down at me, and talked.
I smiled, but felt a bit less convincing in my acting efforts. Maybe I should start method-acting classes when and if, I ever get back to Los Angeles.
-"....The full-bodied melange of spices mixed with the oak after taste..."
She was patronizing me with her deep company backed, and encouraged, vocabulary.
Wow, she was good. I could easily ignore the dark roots.

I looked at her, my thirsty eyes saying:
"Look kiddo, it is time for me to have a sip of this wine. I don't particularly care about the color, the depth of the flavor or acidity. I want a drink. For all I care it could be "Manishevitz" wine. If you ever have the unfortunate chance to taste this American Kosher liquid, which is clearly more suitable to be used as engine oil then a human beverage, you'll understand my desperation. Just stop talking and let me drink this."

She kept with specially chosen oak barrels,oops no - casks - hand crafted from plastic - mined in the high Sierra Mountains by trolls in Lederhosen. And I kept rolling my eyes at the wavy curves of highlighted blond streaks in her brown hair.

Oh yes, I almost forgot - when finally left alone to taste the Porto it sure was sublime!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb