Portugal


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Óbidos
June 16th 2011
Published: June 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

AlcobacaAlcobacaAlcobaca

This church was quite plain, nothing too exciting inside but it was gorgeous outside. Lovely town with plenty of souvenirs. I finally learned about the Portugal symbol meaning of the ROOSTER aka COCK.
Hey everyone!!

Trying to do this as a Reader's Digest update of my time in Portugal, there is so much to share but I want to keep in short as there are more stories and pics to come now that I have internet. I have uploaded some new videos on youtube.com - search wonstable to view.

If you are interested in architecture or stones-bricklaying-masonary, you should definately visit Portugal, most specifically Lisboa-Lisbon. It is incredible! I am not even into that but it was impressive and in your face everywhere. I saw so many different streets with unique stone work.

Fado music is quite famous in Lisbon as well. I went to check out the museum but it was closed early so instead I walked through these crazy narrow lanes with steep steps further discovering the atmosphere in that area. There were some musicians playing and some ladies dancing (a bit hippie style but I wanted to get in on it - managed to resist that urge)! It was awesome music and a beautiful view of the city there though. Found a couple markets and more celebration decorations from St. Antonio's bday. It is a big deal for the locals and it really shows in the city, even in the small towns too!

I toured around 9on my own on Thursday with the Yellow Bus tram and bus tours, enjoyed the afternoon of Wednesday on my own too. It is challenging at times because I do not speak Portugese at all and know only a little Spanish. The most frustrating time was where i found some fabulous shoes and the asian salesman was just pointing to the box of shoes when I asked to try on my size and inquired about the price. Later on I discovered another similar store but the difference was a sign on the door - wholesale customers only. Ah ha, that was when it clicked - the guy wasn't being rude, he only sold to wholesale customers! With that being said, the Portugese people are quite friendly and helpful, I did very well despite the language barrier getting photographs and directions around the city. I thoroughly enjoyed taking my tours in English as I was getting quick sick of Spanish 24-7. It was just frustrating because I couldn't really converse with the people and some of the tour ppl made fun of
Walking on the starsWalking on the starsWalking on the stars

Wow, the sidewalks and streets are very interesting here in Portugal, decorated with black and white stones of various styles - very artistic!
me because of my lack of Spanish.

Oh - the cock of barcelos (rooster) story - a man was accused of stealing silver an a rich landowner's home in Barcelos after a dinner party. Despite the overwhelming evidence against the man, he pled innocent and the magristrate gave him the chance to prove that. He saw a cock in a basket nearby and said, ''If I am innocent, the cock will crow''. The cock crowed and the prisoner man went free. Too bad I didn't learn this story until Friday at the end of my time in Portugal - I had wondered about the popularity of the roosters everywhere and on all the souvenirs, then I found a postcard that explained....

Will update again soon, lots to catch you up on!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Funky chairs by the seaFunky chairs by the sea
Funky chairs by the sea

Not much shade so you cannot hog the seats for too long but the variety of colors make a neat view! There are trees and shrubs inside as well as a couple sitting spots per funky chair.
Buildings and plants...Buildings and plants...
Buildings and plants...

There were planters set out along this road for at least a 10minute drive. there were vegetable plants and flowers, quite neat - I am assuming they are planting around the city but not sure.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb